The Lace Reader
16%
off

The Lace Reader

3.46 (25,032 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry's bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called "[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic" by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator--a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller--hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles--and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 536 pages
  • 129.54 x 149.86 x 22.86mm | 181.44g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Large type / large print edition
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061668265
  • 9780061668265
  • 1,528,174

Back cover copy

Every gift has a price . . .

Every piece of lace has a secret . . .

My name is Towner Whitney. No, that's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . .

Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations, but the disappearance of two women brings Towner home to Salem and the truth about the death of her twin sister to light.
show more

Review quote

Evocative, layered, smart, and astonishing, THE LACE READER is a fever dream of a novel that will haunt me for a long time to come. The Salem, Massachusetts that the Whitney women inhabit is a wild, dark place, and I loved every moment that I spent there. --Joshilyn Jackson, author of The Girl Who Stopped Swimming"
show more

Rating details

25,032 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 15% (3,845)
4 35% (8,664)
3 34% (8,544)
2 12% (3,121)
1 3% (858)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X