Knitting

Knitting

3.32 (1,325 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

When Sandra is widowed tragically early in her early 40s, with no children to distract her, and a career as a college lecturer only keeping her mildly busy, she feels she needs a new direction in her life. This comes in the unlikely shape of Martha, a woman she meets completely randomly when they both stop to help in a medical emergency in a shopping mall. Martha has also experienced grief, but appears to have worked it through. She is also a keen, talented, but almost obsessive knitter, who lives and breathes her skill. Sandra is fascinated by her work, and eager to develop other strands to her career, decides to organise an exhibition on the history of women's clothing and textiles, asking Martha to help her by creating replicas of various items. What follows is not a conventional friendship, nor a conventional healing, but whatever it is, it changes Sandra's life very much for the better...
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 23mm | 192g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141020652
  • 9780141020655
  • 396,436

Review quote

Bartlett has created an enthralling story about the healing power of friendship, enriched by knitting details. "A sweetly winning tale." --Kirkus Reviews "An enthralling story about the healing power of friendship." "Well-crafted . . . thoughtful and genuine." --Australian Book Review "A beautiful novel that is, at its heart, about forgiveness." --Book Sense Notables "A quiet, literary book exploring grace, loss, suffering, community, and forgiveness." --Christianity Today "What could be better than a good story about knitting? Anne Bartlett's Knitting fits the bill." --Creative Knitting "In the tradition of Anita Brookner and Barbara Pym, Anne Bartlett has written a sly, stirring look at women's lives." --Meg Wolitzer, author of The Wife "The believable, well-constructed dialogue captures the tension and tenderness of friendship. And the words the characters don't share with each other electrify the scenes." -Sydney Morning Herald "Reading Knitting is an experience as sensual and mystical as plunging your hands into skeins of wool and color . . . A joyful narrative of creating and connecting." --Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife "I loved Knitting. It's simply magnificent. The relationships are beautifully, delicately offered and the story is as reaffirming as anything I've read in years." --Terry Kay, author of To Dance with the White Dog "A wonderful tale . . . both beautiful and deeply satisfying." --Connie May Fowler, author of Before Women Had Wings "A love of the handicraft in question is not a prerequisite for appreciating [Knitting] . . . The finished product has a subtle beauty." "A moving story about true love and haunting grief." --Adriana Trigiani, author of Big Stone Gap "A love of the handicraft in question is not a prerequisite for appreciating [Knitting] . . . The finished product has a subtle beauty." The Washington Post "Compelling . . . There is a lot in this book for anyone who ponders the big questions of life: the nature of friendship, the need for meaningful work, the comfort of sharing grief." Bookpage "A quiet, literary book exploring grace, loss, suffering, community, and forgiveness." --Christianity Today "What could be better than a good story about knitting? Anne Bartlett's Knitting fits the bill." --Creative Knitting "Well-crafted . . . thoughtful and genuine." --Australian Book Review "A beautiful novel that is, at its heart, about forgiveness." --Book Sense Notables "The believable, well-constructed dialogue captures the tension and tenderness of friendship. And the words the characters don
show more

About Anne Bartlett

Anne Bartlett lives in Adelaide with her husband, three sons and one daughter. She has worked as an editor, ghost writer, columnist, biographer, feature writer and children's writer and has been writer in residence at several schools. She has a Masters, and is completing a PhD, in Creative Writing.
show more

Rating details

1,325 ratings
3.32 out of 5 stars
5 12% (165)
4 30% (404)
3 38% (499)
2 16% (206)
1 4% (51)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X