Kittyhawk Down

Kittyhawk Down

3.76 (478 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$13.64

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


An unidentified man is fished out of the sea with an anchor wrapped around his waist. And for Detective Inspector Hal Challis, this sparks the beginning of a mysterious series of deaths and strange events.

As Challis investigates, an unstable farmer erupts into violence and is the target of a massive manhunt. Meanwhile, Challis's emotional life is edgy and, adding further complications to his life, some of his police colleagues have allowed their private and public responsibilities to blur in ways that could cause big trouble. Things are chaotic enough, but then Challis finds some aerial photographs in the possession of his friend, Kitty, that link her to the shotgun killings.

'Kittyhawk Down' is Garry Disher's second crime novel in the Detective Inspector Challis series, following the internationally renowned crime novel, 'The Dragon Man', winner of the German Crime Fiction Critics Award 2001 and shortlisted for the Ned Kelly Award.

Praise for The Dragon Man

'unquestionably his masterpiece. An astonishingly told caper that's tough, tender and poignant and totally captivating.' The Age
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 130 x 195mm
  • Sydney, Australia
  • 1865089818
  • 9781865089812

Table of contents

The Stencil Man, 1988

The Difference To Me, 1988

Writing Fiction, 1989

Kickback, 1991

Flamingo Gate, 1991

The Bamboo Flute, 1992

Paydirt, 1992

Deathdeal, 1993

Crosskill, 1994

The Sunken Road, 1995

Port Vila Blues, 1995

Straight, Bent and Barbara Vine, 1997

The Dragon Man, 1999

Past the Headlands, 2001
show more

About Garry Disher

Garry Disher grew up in rural South Australia and now lives near the Victorian Coast. A full-time writer for many years, he is the author of novels, short story collections, writers' handbooks, anthologies, and books for children.

The Dragon Man (A+U 1999), was the first book in the Inspector Challis series and won the German Crime Fiction Prize in 2000. His novel The Divine Wind won the NSW Premier's Award and The Bamboo Flute won Book of the Year in Australia and the USA. The Sunken Road (A+U 1996), was shortlisted for several major awards and nominated for the Booker Prize by his English publisher. His most recent book, Past the Headlands, was published in 2001.
show more

Rating details

478 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 17% (83)
4 47% (223)
3 32% (153)
2 4% (17)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X