Kiss of Broken Glass
30%
off

Kiss of Broken Glass

3.59 (901 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the next 72 hours, Kenna may lose everything-her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for 72 hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain. When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for a mandatory psychiatric watch. There Kenna meets other kids like her-her roommate, Donya, who's there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems ...for a moment. Madeleine Kuderick's gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page. Supports the Common Core State Standardsshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 144.78 x 210.82 x 25.4mm | 317.51g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062306561
  • 9780062306562
  • 1,128,244

Back cover copy

My name is Kenna. No one ever told me the truth about cutting-- How scars multiply like freaking rabbits. How cutting turns you into a pathological liar. How getting caught lands you in a psych ward with no way out for 72 hours. But that's exactly what happens. To me anyway. And I bet you wonder how anyone could ever change--in just three days, in a place like this where everybody's broken. Trust me. I wonder that myself. An incandescent novel that pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page, Kiss of Broken Glass is unforgettable.show more

About Madeleine Kuderick

Madeleine Kuderick writes for anthologies and magazines and has spoken at conferences, including the International Reading Association's, where she's an advocate for reluctant readers and the teachers who touch their lives. She has a bachelor's degree from the University of South Florida and an MBA from Saint Leo University. Madeleine grew up in Oak Park, Illinois, a community with a rich literary tradition, where she was editor in chief of the same high school newspaper that Ernest Hemingway wrote for as a teen. She now lives on Florida's Gulf Coast with her husband and two children.show more

Our customer reviews

Yeah. Don't feel like doing normal format. Goodreads update style: rating 3.5 progress (page 1 of 224) I'm starting Kiss of Broken Glass: Okay... When I requested to begin with, it didn't say anything about being in verse.... But this is a subject close to my heart, so I am trying to go in with open mind, and go ahead and connect with kenna before I begin page 9 4.0% "KoBG (title) is tighter than some of the other poetry books I have read. Making it pretty easy for me to follow along and not be confused at what is actually going on. Still not my fave medium but I think I will be finishing" page 14 6.0% "Wondering what the Baker Act is its been mentioned several times... Said its Florida based. Thank you wikipedia... its an act that allows involuntary psych admission." page 60 26.0% "Love her thought patterns and how realistic this book is. Shows how much she craves to cut and that it is something that buries in the mind and takes over life." 150 66.0% "Flying through. Love the group interaction and her and jag. Nothing major there, but still" page 175 78.0% "Peer pressure sucks. It comes out her reasons for starting to cut... And the back of the book where it talks about she didn't have absent parents, no abuse, no sexual assault... Her reasons were different, and I can totally see how she could have felt like she had no other choice. Her friend Rennie took her under wing and helped her be in the popular circle, but its deeper than that." page 210 93.0% "I loved the butterfly from another person in the ward. The premise was to draw a butterfly on wrists or where you cut and then name it. Makes it harder with a name to cut there in theory. Never heard of a strategy like that but thought it was beautiful." page 223 99.0% "The ending is realistic. The book takes place in a span of 72 hours. So Kenna learned a few skills, and thought more about her reasonings. But there was no magic cure. She is sent home and told that relapse is normal... So we have hope that she has the skills to learn to stop cutting." Overall, enjoyed this. The verse worked for me here and I came away feeling emotional but sense of hope. Bottom Line: Surprised me that I connected to a main character in a book told in verse.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X