The King's Touch

The King's Touch

3.7 (181 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Restored to the British throne in 1660 after years of exile, Charles II began a reign famous for dramatic events (the Plague, the Great Fire, the Dutch Wars), the flowering of science and the arts, and for notorious sexual liaisons. With a bevy of mistresses and flamboyantly addicted to high living, the Merry Monarch successfully presided over 'Merry Olde England' in an age of intrigue and religious dissent. When his tolerance extended to acknowledging his illegitimate son at court, James's life changed out of all recognition. This is the story of a remarkable man, and the spectacular upheavals and reverses of the time, told through the eyes of his illegitimate son, James, Duke of Monmouth.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 544 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 38mm | 358.34g
  • Headline Publishing Group
  • HEADLINE REVIEW
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0747267588
  • 9780747267584
  • 671,156

Review quote

'This intricate novel does an excellent job of humanising the history and bringing it to life... For anyone wanting to look behind or just looking for a good yarn, you won't go far wrong with this book' Western Daily Press 28/6/03 * Western Daily Press * 'A comfortable and satisfying [read]' South Wales Argus 'Elegantly crafted and a joy to read...an impressive debut - imaginative and skilfully told' Historical Novels Review 'If you love historical novels in the vein of Georgette Heyer and Dinah Lampitt then you won't be disappointed with Jude Morgan's latest novel...The story is vividly portrayed with lots of period colour...a gripping read' Devon Today 'Conjuring up in extensive detail the politics, fears and licentious behaviour of the Restoration court...Morgan is careful to challenge the preconceptions of his historical characters... His skill is in bringing to life Jemmy's understandings of the deceitful atmosphere swirling around him' The Times '[Jude Morgan] handles incredibly complicated political intrigues with great aplomb and [his] characters take on real flesh. Charles himself emerges so strongly as the complicated character he certainly was, and his relationship with his brother James is very skilfully portrayed...A remarkably smooth and satisfying read...Catches the atmosphere of the times without dodging the intensely serious background to all the sexual licence and scandal which is normally taken to characterise the era' Margaret Forster 'A fresh, fascinating and illuminating insight into the life of the Merry Monarch. Jude Morgan writes with style and understanding' Reay Tannahillshow more

About Jude Morgan

Jude Morgan was born and brought up in Peterborough on the edge of the Fens and was a student on the University of East Anglia MA Course in Creative Writing under Malcolm Bradbury and Angela Carter.show more

Rating details

181 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 24% (43)
4 40% (72)
3 23% (42)
2 10% (18)
1 3% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X