The King's Daughter

The King's Daughter : A Novel

3.63 (592 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The King's Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemaster's Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her father's pawn in the royal marriage market.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 468 pages
  • 134.62 x 208.28 x 25.4mm | 476.27g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 006197627X
  • 9780061976278
  • 1,748,752

Back cover copy

The daughter of James I, the Princess Elizabeth would not be merely her father's pawn in the royal marriage market.

The court of James I is a dangerous place, with factions led by warring cousins Robert Cecil and Francis Bacon. While Europe seethes with conflict between Protestants and Catholics, James sees himself as a grand peacemaker--and wants to make his mark by trading his children for political treaties.

Henry, Prince of Wales, and his sister, Elizabeth, find themselves far more popular than their distrusted father, a perilous position for a child of a jealous king. When Elizabeth is introduced to one suitor, Frederick, the Elector Palatine, she feels the unexpected possibility of happiness. But her fate is not her own to choose--and when her parents brutally withdraw their support for the union, Elizabeth must take command of her own future, with the help of an unexpected ally, the slave girl Tallie, who seeks her own, very different freedom.
show more

Review quote

[An] epic story of royal secrets and love. . . . With a delightful touch, Dickason immerses readers into a difficult period of English history. . . . Fans of historical novels will enjoy her newest and await the next. --Publishers Weekly"
show more

Rating details

592 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 22% (133)
4 35% (206)
3 30% (177)
2 9% (53)
1 4% (23)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X