The Kingdom Under the Sea

The Kingdom Under the Sea

4.23 (309 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$28.25

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This is a wonderful new reissued edition of the classic Joan Aiken short story collection illustrated with Jan Pienkowski's iconic silhouettes. These East European fairytales have it all: drama, magic, heroes, fairies, dragons, mermaids, adventure, bravery and beauty...
show more

Product details

  • 9+
  • Hardback | 128 pages
  • 157 x 226 x 15mm | 426g
  • Jonathan Cape Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0857550098
  • 9780857550095
  • 202,156

Flap copy

"Would you like to listen to some fine stories? I know stories about heroes, stories about magicians, stories about birds and beasts, summer and winter, the sun, the moon and the stars."

From the creators of the much-loved A Necklace of Raindrops comes a collection of stories filled with magic.

Travel deep to the kingdom under the sea, where lies the sea-king's palace filled with mermaids and dragons, the fearsome and the monstrous... Wicked fairies rub shoulders with sun-gods, goblins make mischief and noble knights go into battle within these pages. Meet Baba Yaga, who eats men up as if they were chickens, and meet the most beautiful creature on the whole round of the earth! There are brave deeds, granted wishes and mythical creatures in these traditional European folk tales retold with the inimitable touch of master storyteller Joan Aiken, and illustrated with the iconic silhouettes of Jan Pienkowski.

Winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration in 1971, The Kingdom Under the Sea celebrates 40 years of transporting you to a land of mystery and drama, of beauty and humour, where anything is possible...
show more

Back cover copy

Winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal
show more

Review quote

"Anyone who enjoyed the works of Joan Aiken and Jan Pienkowski at an impressionable age will coo fondly over the reissue of 1971's The Kingdom Under the Sea, Aiken's retelling of a series of Eastern European folk-tales. It too, is chock-full of ghastliness, as vintage children's tales used to be. Pienkowski's illustrations are whimsically macabre" Guardian "The Kingdom Under the Sea is a collection of traditional European folk takes retold by Joan Aiken and illustrated by Jan Pienkowski. A book for reader and listener to enjoy" Newbury Weekly News "First published in 1971, when it won the Kate Greenaway medal, this timeless collection of stories with enigmatic titles such as The Imprisoned Queen and The Sun's Cousin, all complemented by Jan Pienkowski's atmospheric sillhouette illustrations, will captivate a new generation. A book for keeps" -- Mary Arrigan Irish Examiner
show more

About Joan Aiken

Joan Aiken (Author) Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960. Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times, said, 'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in l962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain. Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.Jan Pienkowski (Illustrator) Jan Pienkowski was born in Warsaw in 1936. After creating his first book at the age of eight, Jan went on to excel in his chosen field of design, working in such diverse areas as television, theatre and greetings cards. Published in 1968, A Necklace of Raindrops was the first of several wonderful collaborations between Jan and Joan Aiken - and it was also the very first book Jan illustrated. He has since twice won the Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration, and has created many instantly recognizable classics.
show more

Rating details

309 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 46% (143)
4 33% (103)
3 18% (55)
2 2% (7)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X