Kindred
43%
off

Kindred : The ground-breaking masterpiece

4.22 (64,447 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

**'The marker you should judge all other time-travelling narratives by' Guardian**

Octavia E. Butler's masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times

'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential' The Pool

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

What readers are saying about KINDRED:

'It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year. Incredible. I couldn't put it down'

'The narrator is us - we see the abomination and humiliation of slavery not through a slave's eyes, but our modern-day eyes, and it makes it all the more powerful'

'A must-read for everyone'

'Emotionally and viscerally alive and challenging. I don't know how I missed it before now'
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 261g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472258223
  • 9781472258229
  • 1,157

Review quote

Few writers in our field are so good at blending page-turners with philosophical questions so seamlessly -- Cory Doctorow Butler's books are exceptional * Village Voice * If you haven't read Butler, you don't yet understand how rich the possibilities of science fiction can be * Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction * Impossible to turn away from once you've devoured the first few pages * Starburst * One of the most original, thought-provoking works examining race and identity * Los Angeles Times * A searing, caustic examination of bizarre and alien practices on the third planet from the sun * Kirkus * The immediate effect of reading Octavia Butler's Kindred is to make every other time travel book in the world look as if it's wimping out... This is a brilliant book, utterly absorbing, very well written, and deeply distressing. It's very hard to read, not because it's not good but because it's so good * Tor * Everyone should read at least one novel by the grand dame of science fiction, and Kindred is a perfect (and harrowing and disturbing and brilliant) place to start * Refinery 29 * [A] must-read novel * BBC * One cannot finish Kindred without feeling changed. It is a shattering work of art * Los Angeles Herald-Examiner * Kindred is that rare magical artifact . . . the novel one returns to, again and again * Harlan Ellison * No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential... If you've ever tweeted "All Lives Matter", someone needs to shove Kindred into your hand, and quickly * The Pool * [Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human * New York Times * A dark, compelling and still horribly resonant time travel story * Independent * Butler's prose, always pared back to the bone, delineates the painful paradoxes of metamorphosis with compelling precision * Guardian * One of the most significant literary artists of the twentieth century. One cannot exaggerate the impact she has had -- Junot Diaz
show more

About Octavia E. Butler

Octavia E. Butler (1947-2006) was the author of numerous ground-breaking novels, including Kindred, Wild Seed, and Parable of the Sower. Recipient of the Locus, Hugo and Nebula awards, she became the first science fiction writer to receive the MacArthur Fellowship 'Genius Grant'.
show more

Rating details

64,447 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 44% (28,591)
4 38% (24,468)
3 14% (8,947)
2 3% (1,920)
1 1% (521)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X