Killing of Worlds
12%
off

Killing of Worlds : Succession Book 2

4.07 (1,483 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

#1 New York Times bestselling author Westerfeld continues one of the first great space operas of this century

Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Uglies, Pretties, and Specials, reached new heights of excitement with The Risen Empire and left readers begging for more. He delivers the dazzling payoff in book two, The Killing of Worlds.

The immortal Emperor can grant a form of eternal life-after-death, creating an elite known as the Risen, and so has ruled the eighty worlds unchallenged for sixteen hundred years. The only thing he fears are the Rix, machine-augmented humans who worship AI compound minds. They are dedicated to replacing his prolonged rule with an eternal cybernetic dynasty of their own.

Brilliant tactician Captain Laurent Zai of the Imperial Frigate Lynx faces a suicide mission: stopping the next thrust of the Rix invasion with just his own vessel. While ship-to-ship combat rages among the stars, Zai's lover, Senator Nara Oxham, is caught in a deadly political fencing match with the Emperor himself. The Emperor has a terrible secret, a secret Nara is in danger of finding out, a secret for which he would countenance the killing of worlds.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 139.7 x 205.74 x 25.4mm | 294.83g
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0765320525
  • 9780765320520
  • 313,146

Review quote

"In the tradition of Isaac Asimov's Foundation series and Frank Herbert's Dune books. With a light touch all his own, Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times "on" The Risen Empire"
show more

About Scott Westerfeld

Scott Westerfeld lives in New York City and Sydney, Australia.
show more

Rating details

1,483 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 35% (515)
4 43% (633)
3 19% (279)
2 3% (45)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X