Killigrew RN

Killigrew RN

3.38 (26 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Forty years after its abolition, the Transatlantic slave trade is more lucrative than ever; even the new steamships of the Royal Navy are powerless to catch the swift brigs of the slavers. Only one man is ruthless enough to beat the slavers at their own game. Risking death and disgrace, Lieutenant Kitt Killigrew infiltrates the crew of a slave ship to discover the whereabouts of the biggest slave market on the coast of West Africa, owned by shadowy megalomanic Francisco Salazar. From the smoke-filled gentlemen's clubs of London to the steamy jungles of the Guinea Coast, Killigrew embarks on a journey fraught with murder and betrayal.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 111.76 x 172.72 x 33.02mm | 249.47g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0747263809
  • 9780747263807
  • 1,574,111

Review quote

A new naval hero who will delight lovers of seafaring yarns * Manchester Evening News * Move over, Hornblower, there's a new kid on the block. This is the swashbuckling sea yarn of Victorian mariner Kit Killigrew, and it is packed with action * Motorboats Monthly * A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling. You bet * BELFAST TELEGRAPH * A swashbuckling high seas adventure that matches Hornblower at his best * NORTHERN ECHO * Action packed and well-researched...in the vein of Forester and O'Brian but with its own distinctive flavour. Shows great promise * GOOD BOOK GUIDE * Killigrew R.N. is set in a relatively untouched era - the first years of the steam warships. Lunn's easy read is notable for historical accuracy yet still manages to contain more petticoats and bloody deaths than all of Patrick O'Brian's tales * WARSHIPS * 'A fascinating new series by fresh new talent Jonathan Lunn. [Killigrew] proves himself a hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower' Bolton Evening News 'Action packed and well-researched...in the vein of Forester and O'Brian but with its own distinctive flavour. Shows great promise' Good Book Guide A rollicking tale with plenty of punches * LANCASHIRE EVENING POST * 'A rollicking tale with plenty of punches' Lancashire Evening Post Promising start for a new Victorian naval hero * BOOKSELLER *
show more

About Jonathan Lunn

Born in London, Jonathan Lunn started writing at the age of fifteen. He studied history at the University of Leicester, where he became involved in politics. He worked for six years as a spin doctor for the modern-day equivalent of the Whigs. He now lives in Bristol.
show more

Rating details

26 ratings
3.38 out of 5 stars
5 8% (2)
4 38% (10)
3 42% (11)
2 8% (2)
1 4% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X