Kierkegaard's Writings, VI, Volume 6

Kierkegaard's Writings, VI, Volume 6 : Fear and Trembling/Repetition

4.24 (5,021 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited and translated by  , Edited and translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


Presented here in a new translation, with a historical introduction by the translators, Fear and Trembling and Repetition are the most poetic and personal of Soren Kierkegaard's pseudonymous writings. Published in 1843 and written under the names Johannes de Silentio and Constantine Constantius, respectively, the books demonstrate Kierkegaard's transmutation of the personal into the lyrically religious. Each work uses as a point of departure Kierkegaard's breaking of his engagement to Regine Olsen--his sacrifice of "that single individual." From this beginning Fear and Trembling becomes an exploration of the faith that transcends the ethical, as in Abraham's willingness to sacrifice his son Isaac at God's command. This faith, which persists in the face of the absurd, is rewarded finally by the return of all that the faithful one is willing to sacrifice. Repetition discusses the most profound implications of unity of personhood and of identity within change, beginning with the ironic story of a young poet who cannot fulfill the ethical claims of his engagement because of the possible consequences of his marriage.
The poet finally despairs of repetition (renewal) in the ethical sphere, as does his advisor and friend Constantius in the aesthetic sphere. The book ends with Constantius' intimation of a third kind of repetition--in the religious sphere.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 25.4mm | 539g
  • New Jersey, United States
  • English
  • Revised ed.
  • 0691020264
  • 9780691020266
  • 131,242

Back cover copy

In Repetition Kierkegaard discusses the most profound implications of the unity of personhood and of identity within change-the repetition that creates the rebirth of God in the heart of man, brings the eternal into the present, and allows the past to retain its meaning.
show more

Review quote

"The definitive edition of the Writings. The first volume ... indicates the scholarly value of the entire series: an introduction setting the work in the context of Kierkegaard's development; a remarkably clear translation; and concluding sections of intelligent notes."--Library Journal
show more

About Soren Kierkegaard

Søren Kierkegaard wurde 1813 in Kopenhagen geboren und lebte nach dem Studium der Theologie und Philosophie vom väterlichen Erbe. Mit seinen berühmten Werken gilt er als der Begründer der Existenz-Philosophie. 1855 starb er mutmaßlich an den Spätfolgen einer syphilitischen Erkrankung.
show more

Rating details

5,021 ratings
4.24 out of 5 stars
5 49% (2,457)
4 31% (1,560)
3 16% (789)
2 3% (161)
1 1% (54)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X