The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine
14%
off

The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine

4.48 (274 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Horace F. Andrews and his friend Chloe are Keepers of magical objects of extraordinary power. But as the presence of a new Keeper is made known, they are drawn into a struggle to find out who she is and where her loyalties lie. A gripping sequel to The Box and the Dragonfly, the first book in Ted Sanders's Keepers series, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as a "satisfying and original quest tale."

As Horace and Chloe adjust to their newfound talents--Horace can see the future and Chloe can walk through walls--a girl called April is drawn toward the Keeper stronghold, the Warren. She comes with a Tan'ji of her own, though it is damaged and there is no telling what will happen if it cannot be made whole again. Accompanied by a mysterious woman with a power of her own and the young boy leading them in the right direction, April is being pursued by a pack of sinister hunters. Will she reach the Warren in time, and will it offer safety or only more danger?

Ted Sanders's series has the feel of classic fantasy with a science fiction twist, and this second book, The Harp and the Ravenvine, will thrill readers with adventure, intrigue, and the unexpected at every turn.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 662 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 56mm | 680g
  • English
  • 0062275852
  • 9780062275851
  • 1,081,809

Back cover copy

In the world of the Keepers, it's best not to speak in terms of the impossible.

Horace F. Andrews, Keeper of the fabled Box of Promises, knows that nothing is impossible. After all, he has the ability to see into the future, and his friend Chloe can walk through walls. But before either of them can master their Tan'ji--their talismans of power--a new threat looms over all Keepers, and they must prepare to battle their eternal enemies: the Riven.

Far away, drawn by an irresistible summons, a mysterious girl is making her way to the Warren, the Keeper stronghold. She wears the Ravenvine and is learning to wield its fascinating power. But this Tan'ji is damaged, and there's no telling what will happen to the instrument or its Keeper if it cannot be made whole again. April's journey is long and dangerous, with strange new companions at her side and a pack of sinister hunters tracking her. Will she reach the Warren in time, and is it a safe haven, or will it offer only more danger?

Ted Sanders's magical series began with The Box and the Dragonfly and continues with this powerful sequel that expands the extraordinary world of the Keepers, where nothing is ever ordinary and three words rule: Curiosity. Discovery. Possibility.

Praise for The Box and the Dragonfly

"The Keepers is a wildly original adventure, electric paced and brain bending, that will enthrall kids and adults alike. It's more than a fantasy, building physics and folklore into its search to answer questions about whether true magic can ever exist. But most of all, it has a wonderful central character in Horace, smart and vulnerable, who grounds us in this extraordinary world."--Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling series The School for Good and Evil

"The magical world is full of detail and wonder. Fans of Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander will find this one entertaining."--School Library Journal

"The story has a from-another-era charm. An epic adventure of self-discovery, magic, tragedy, and blurred lines of loyalty for middle grade lovers of fantasy."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

Review quote

"Sanders uses mystery, action, and suspense to intrigue readers. A rousing start for the Keepers series."--ALA Booklist
show more

Rating details

274 ratings
4.48 out of 5 stars
5 59% (162)
4 32% (87)
3 8% (23)
2 0% (1)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X