Keane's Company
18%
off

Keane's Company

3.84 (308 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

Meet James Keane of the 27th Foot: an ill-disciplined card sharp and ladies' man - and one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane's task, assigned directly by Wellington, is the creation of an intelligence unit operating behind the French lines. He and his company are trusted with the secrets of the generals - and viewed with hostile suspicion by regular troops.

In a bid to recruit men with uncommon skills, Keane springs soldiers from military jails and liberates them from their regiments. It's up to him to form this band of blackguards into an elite unit. Deep in enemy territory, they must negotiate with dangerous guerilla groups and forge new routes for their army if they are to succeed - and survive. Based on the true activities of the first British military intelligence unit, Keane's Company presents an unusual and fascinating picture of the Peninsular War: a nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen and a worthy companion to Sharpe.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 138 x 197 x 23mm | 266g
  • Heron Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • map (black and white)
  • 1782064524
  • 9781782064527
  • 185,470

Review quote

'A gripping, engaging, fast-paced and colourful read, full of the grit, grime and camaraderie of the fighting men of the Peninsular War. An absolute must-read for all fans of Bernard Cornwell and A.L. Berridge' Historical Writers' Association. * Historical Writers Association * 'Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte' Bernard Cornwell. * Bernard Cornwell *
show more

About Iain Gale

Iain Gale, art critic, journalist and author, comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust, the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland, and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh.
show more

Rating details

308 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 25% (77)
4 45% (138)
3 22% (67)
2 6% (19)
1 2% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X