Kalifus Rising

Kalifus Rising : Legends of Orkney Series

4.38 (76 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards: Gold Medal, Best Book Series - Chapter Book




"Sam's internal struggles and focus on the dark side of his witch heritage are reminiscent of Anakin Skywalker and will likely appeal to fanboys and fangirls, particularly as he 'must face the darkness inside.' Combined with strong female leads, both heroic and villainous, the ever growing and changing cast of characters has something for everyone. Fantasy, mythology, a touch of romance, and enough sword fights and battles to appease even the most action-hungry make Kalifus Rising a well-rounded, solid choice for those craving a new type of adventure."

-Foreword Reviews FIVE STAR review




Sam Baron just freed Orkney from the ravages of the Red Sun-but now, imprisoned by Catriona, leader of the Volgrim Witches, Sam finds the darker side of his half-god, half-witch heritage released, and he fears he might destroy what he saved. Unable to resist the witches' enchantments, Sam has become their most potent weapon, and is leading an army of monstrous men against Skara Brae.







Sam's only hope for salvation lies with his three best friends and a mystical artifact known as the Moon Pearl. Keely travels north in search of the pearl, while Howie prepares for the gathering onslaught. Leo seeks a powerful artifact in the underworld, and faces an ancient evil that could be an even greater threat than Catriona and her cronies.







As Sam's friends rush to save him, other forces are at work in Orkney's shadows-forces that could help free Sam, or condemn him to the darkness forever.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 152 x 228 x 27.94mm | 521.63g
  • Tempe, United States
  • English
  • 2nd ed.
  • 1940716845
  • 9781940716848
  • 1,966,360

Review quote

2017 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards: Gold Medal, Best Book Series - Chapter Book








"Sam's internal struggles and focus on the dark side of his witch heritage are reminiscent of Anakin Skywalker and will likely appeal to fanboys and fangirls, particularly as he 'must face the darkness inside.' Combined with strong female leads, both heroic and villainous, the ever growing and changing cast of characters has something for everyone. Fantasy, mythology, a touch of romance, and enough sword fights and battles to appease even the most action-hungry make Kalifus Rising a well-rounded, solid choice for those craving a new type of adventure."



-Foreword Reviews FIVE STAR review








"Adams is a master of exposition, never letting it slow the narrative by immersing it in rapid-fire dialogue . . . Indelible characters, both good and evil, and a rescue storyline that refuses to dawdle."



-Kirkus Reviews








"This series will do well with the Percy Jackson crowd and fans of Norse mythology."



-School Library Journal








Featured on Girls' Life Fall Reading List








Praise and Awards for the Legends of Orkney series:








For The Red Sun:








2016 International Book Awards: Fiction: Young Adult Finalist








2015 USA Best Book Awards: Best Cover Design: Fiction, Winner








2015 USA Best Book Awards: Children's Fiction, Winner








Beverly Hills Book Award: Best Juvenile Fiction, Winner








IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards: Best New Voice Children's/Young Adult, Silver Medal








Readers Favorite Awards Children Preteen: Silver Medal Winner








"This fast-moving adventure-the beginning of a trilogy-is sure to appease mythology fans who are outgrowing Percy Jackson's antics and looking for darker, weightier storytelling. VERDICT: A great choice for middle school collections."



-School Library Journal








"Percy Jackson meets Norse mythology in this captivating and unique adventure."



-Foreword Reviews (4 stars out of 5)








"The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams is a book that will take children on a roller coaster ride of adventure and fantasy where whimsical and menacing creatures and witches will enthrall readers."



-Readers' Favorite (5 stars out of 5)








"This novel may appeal to young readers who have enjoyed other 'chosen one' fantasy stories: It moves along at a speedy clip, and preteens will likely identify with Sam's anger and frustration with the world . . . it's a high fantasy tale that maintains a quick pace..."



-Kirkus Reviews








"The Red Sun is a roller coaster ride of adventure, Norse mythology, magic and mayhem. Between Sam facing awesome villains in the magical realm of Orkney to teachers turning into lizards, I had the best time doing the voiceover for the audiobook. Don't miss out on this terrific story!"



-Karan Brar, actor on Disney's Jessie and Bunk'd








"Alane Adams is the brilliant mind behind the Legends of Orkney series . . . Adams' knowledge of the Norse myths lends itself to an intricate story full of legend and mysticism . . . For Percy Jackson fans."



-Hypable








"8 Middle Grade Books to Fall For During School Season"



-BuzzFeed








"Alane Adams weaves a rollicking tale of adventure, filled with magic and mayhem, in The Red Sun, first in the Legends of Orkney series. Adams combines elements of Norse mythology and Umatilla tradition to send her young protagonist, Sam, on a unique quest to find himself and to save the entire realm of Orkney in the process."



-Clarion








"Cool read for kids"



-Middle Shelf Magazine








"A fast-paced adventure quest full of Norse mythology and spellbinding fun. Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will love The Red Sun."



-Kristen Hunt, author of Blonde Eskimo
show more

About Alane Adams

Alane Adams is an author, professor, and literacy advocate. She is the author of the Legends of Orkney fantasy mythology series for tweens and The Coal Thief, a picture book for early-grade readers. She lives in Southern California.
show more

Rating details

76 ratings
4.38 out of 5 stars
5 55% (42)
4 29% (22)
3 14% (11)
2 1% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X