Julia Vanishes
21%
off

Julia Vanishes

3.64 (786 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."--Hypable.com Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking--just out of sight. Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses. It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned--crime pays. She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors. But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be . . . her. Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal--Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33mm | 499g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0553524844
  • 9780553524840
  • 646,000

Review quote

A beautifully rendered world and an exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience. "Publishers Weekly "starred review "Julia's a wonderful, fully realized heroine with moral dilemmas aplenty. For those readers waiting for the sequel to Marie Lu's "The Rose Society," a well-realized page-turner in the same vein." "Kirkus Reviews ""Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed. There is a richness to this inaugural volume of the Witch sChild trilogy, and readers will be hard pressed to put it down." "Booklist"starred review "Egan's debut novel sparkles. A beautifully rendered world and exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience." "Publishers Weekly," starred review "A fast-paced, deftly written fantasy with a complex and memorable protagonist. I can t wait for the next instalment!" Juliet Marillier, author of "Wildwood Dancing""show more

About Catherine Egan

CATHERINE EGAN grew up in Vancouver, Canada. Since then, she has lived on a volcanic island in Japan (which erupted while she was there and sent her hurtling straight into the arms of her now-husband), in Tokyo, Kyoto, and Beijing, on an oil rig in the middle of Bohai Bay, then in New Jersey, and now in New Haven, Connecticut. She is currently occupied with writing books and fighting dragon armies with her warrior children. You can read more about her at catherineegan.com and follow her on twitter @bycatherineegan.show more

Rating details

786 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 19% (153)
4 40% (312)
3 30% (234)
2 8% (62)
1 3% (25)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X