Joyride
46%
off

Joyride

3.63 (2,263 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

It's been years since Carly Vega's parents were deported. She lives with her brother, studies hard, and works at a convenience store to contribute to getting her parents back from Mexico. Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He dated popular blondes and had fun with his older sister, Amber. But now Amber's dead, and Arden blames his father, the town sheriff who wouldn't acknowledge Amber's mental illness. Arden refuses to fulfil whatever his conservative father expects. All Carly wants is to stay under the radar and do what her family expects. All Arden wants is to not do what his family expects. When their paths cross, they each realize they've been living according to others. Carly and Arden's journey toward their true hearts-and one another-is funny, romantic, and sometimes harsh.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 212 x 28mm | 399.99g
  • Feiwel and Friends
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250039614
  • 9781250039613
  • 264,724

Review quote

"Good girl Carly and popular Arden combine forces in order to live more authentic lives in this angsty contemporary novel. Carly's parents have been deported to Mexico and she works nights to support her family. Arden uses his bad-boy reputation to pull off grand, sometimes disastrous pranks to salve the pain of his sister's death. Carly is not Arden's type, at first-and Carly knows she is too busy to bother with him... With a dash of romance, Banks's book tackles the issues of human smuggling, immigration, and a rogue police officer. It could be too much for any young adult novel, but buoyed by irresistible characters, sincere dialogue, and robust prose, this is one ride readers will all want to take. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will flock to the author's fan pool. Relevant, risky, and romantic, this work is a clear standout in today's contemporary YA niche." --School Library Journal "Banks respects her readers by penning an engaging narrative that deepens her central love story... As Carly and Arden open themselves to love and draw closer together, the book's message comes through loud and clear: personal growth can lead us toward unlikely destinies." --Booklist "Writing in the present tense and switching between first-person for Carly and third-person for Arden, Banks offers a book brimming with original humor and mostly complex characterization even as she tackles race and immigration issues. Both a heart-stopper and heart-tugger." --Kirkus Reviews ..".[has] a great deal of charm." --Publishers Weekly on Syrena Legacy ..".intriguing..." --School Library Journal on Syrena Legacy "A refreshing story filled with vibrant characters, feisty humor, and an irresistible romance. This story of star-crossed lovers in a luscious coastal setting brings new life to the age-old myth of merfolk and left me swooning for more!" --Marissa Meyer, New York Times-bestselling author of Cinder on Syrena Legacyshow more

About Anna Banks

Anna Banks is the author of the New York Times-bestselling Syrena Legacy --OF POSEIDON, OF TRITON, OF NEPTUNE. She lives in Crestview, on the Florida Panhandle, with her husband and their daughter.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X