Lone City: The Jewel
24%
off

Lone City: The Jewel

3.86 (20,892 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing; The Handmaid's Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide. Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity - until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other's jeopardy - and salvation.show more

Product details

  • 14+
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 29mm | 410g
  • Walker Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406347493
  • 9781406347494
  • 23,863

Review quote

Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. The Bookseller A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment Loves Books Read Daily A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble Bookseller Children's Guide WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. COMPANY With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. Marie Claire A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. We Love this Book Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. Lancashire Evening Post Intriguing. Books for Keeps Compelling and heart pounding Bath Chronicle 'This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. Reading Zone This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review The Guardian Online This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow Teen Titles "This breath-taking YA novel follows the story of Violet Lasting, who loses her identity when she is auctioned off as a 'surrogate' in the Jewel of the Lone City. [...] We mean it when we say that The Jewel is impossible to put down - and be sure to watch out for that insane plot twist..." Stylistshow more

About Amy Ewing

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.show more

Our customer reviews

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) 16-year-old Violet is a surrogate. Taken from her family and trained to use her special talents (called auguries), Violet will be auctioned off to a royal family to incubate their child, and with the Executors son due to be betrothed within the year, every royal family is wanting a surrogate and a baby girl. Does Violet have what it takes to be a surrogate? And how is she supposed to use her powers to aid the baby? This was an interesting dystopian story, and I really want to read the next book already! Violet was an okay character, although she was a bit naïve at times. I totally understood her horror at the idea of being pregnant with someone else’s child, although as a surrogate you’d expect her to realise that that was going to happen sooner or later! And at points she did things quite rashly, including things that she should have known would get her in trouble. The storyline in this was good, although it did remind me of several other dystopians – The Hunger Games (because the place where they lived was split into sectors which were concentric circles, and each sector dealt with a different vocation), Crewel (because the girls who had these special powers were taken by their families by force whether they liked it or not), and The Selection (because of the way the girls were ranked and sent off to royal families). The world building in this was okay, but I did feel like some of it was late coming. We didn’t find out why surrogates were needed, what exactly they were supposed to do, and why these special ‘auguries’ were important until the half-way mark, and we didn’t find out what happened to the surrogates after they had given birth until nearly the end. There was some romance in this, and I did like it. Again though, Violet seemed a little naïve about what would happen if she was caught! The ending was good, but it was also a cliff-hanger. I really want to read the next book now to find out what happens! Please write faster Amy Ewing! Overall; interesting dystopian, 7 out of 10.show more
by Sarah Elizabeth
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X