Jamaica Inn
22%
off

Jamaica Inn

3.87 (31,502 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 165 x 205 x 22mm | 250g
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0
  • 1844080390
  • 9781844080397
  • 9,185

Review Text

Daphne du Maurier has no equal Sunday Telegraph
show more

Review quote

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent * A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times * Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide * A true classic * Amazon.com * Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
show more

About Daphne du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.
show more

Rating details

31,502 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 27% (8,448)
4 41% (12,888)
3 26% (8,180)
2 5% (1,646)
1 1% (340)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X