Jamaica Inn
22%
off

Jamaica Inn

3.85 (23,754 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there, with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind: Jamaica Inn has a desolate power, and behind it's crumbling walls Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine, and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 36mm | 240g
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 034900658X
  • 9780349006581
  • 47,641

Review quote

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times * A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights -- Emma Frost * Independent * A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent * A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express * Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times * Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide * A true classic * Amazon.com * Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
show more

About Daphne du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.
show more

Rating details

23,754 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 26% (6,176)
4 41% (9,710)
3 26% (6,275)
2 6% (1,323)
1 1% (270)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X