Jackie Leven Said

Jackie Leven Said : A Double CD Release of Storytelling, Laughter and Music.

4.4 (10 ratings by Goodreads)
  • CD-Audio
By (author) 

List price: US$17.54

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The first CD contains the story, Jackie Leven Said, written and read by Ian Rankin, from Ian and Jackie's live show at the 2004 Edinburgh Festival. Ian tells the story in short chapters which are illustrated by musical interludes and complete songs performed by Jackie and keyboard player Michael Cosgrave. The story evokes the suffering (and healing) of a Scottish family coming back together for a funeral in Fife on the east coast of Scotland. Although a work of fiction, the story resonates strongly with the life experiences of both Ian and Jackie who are themselves both from this part of the world. It sparkles with humour. At the end of the storytelling, Ian and Jackie then have a wildly funny knockabout discussion of what it means to come from Fife, with Jackie departing from the subject in his uniquely crazy way. The songs sung by Jackie reflect and blend the lives of Ian and Jackie, but also touch on the inner life of Ian's acclaimed fictional hero cop, the haunted genius that is Detective Inspector John Rebus, himself a Fifer.show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 124 x 136 x 10mm | 117.94g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Unabridged
  • CD-ROM
  • 0752872249
  • 9780752872247
  • 1,487,102

Review quote

Piece in THE INDEPENDENT on 25 March about show in Perth and London Ian was interviewed for 'My Week' for DAILY TELEGRAPH 30 April about the week Fleshmarket Close won the Nibbie and with plug for event at QEH. He has written a piece about the concert and CD for THE TIMES. SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY ran a double page interview with both of Ian and Jackie. There has been a review of the audio in DAILY TELEGRAPH (30 April) Ian was interviewed on R4 FRONT ROW with Jackie Leven. They are also both being interviewed by SIMON MAYO for R5. They are being interviewed by Mariella Frostrup for R2 THE GREEN ROOM.show more

About Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin is the internationally bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus and Detective Malcolm Fox novels, as well as a string of standalone thrillers. His books have been translated into 36 languages and are bestsellers on several continents. Ian is the recipient of four CWA DAGGER AWARDS and in 2004, won America's celebrated EDGAR AWARD. He is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Hull and Edinburgh and received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. Jackie Leven - in a career stretching over forty years, Jackie Leven carved an impressive reputation as a uniquely gifted singer-songwriter. From his emergence as leader of rock band Doll by Doll in the seventies, through to a solo resurgence in the 1980s, to the here and now, Jackie has amassed an amazing body of work. He's the composer of over four hundred songs, including arguably his greatest being Call Mother, from the album Myster of Love (ranked by Q Magazine as one of the '100 Best Albums of All Time'). Jackie Leven sadly died in November 2011.show more

Rating details

10 ratings
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 60% (6)
4 30% (3)
3 0% (0)
2 10% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X