Ivy

Ivy

3.96 (454 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.96 (454 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

For fans of Jessica Day George and E. D. Baker comes a charming young fantasy about a girl, her grandmother, and an animal hospital devoted to fantastical creatures.

Ivy's grandmother is a healer--to mostly four-legged patients of the forest. Although the woodland creatures love her, the residents of Broomsweep grumble about Grandmother's unkempt garden. When a kingdom-wide contest is announced to proclaim the tidiest town in the land, the people of Broomsweep are determined to win. That is, if they can get Ivy's grandmother to clean up her ways. Ivy is determined to lend a hand, but the task proves more challenging when a series of unexpected refugees descends on Grandmother's cottage. Before the week is over, an injured griffin, a dragon with a cold, and a tiny flock of temperamental pixies will cause a most untidy uproar in Broomsweep . . . and brighten Ivy's days in ways she never could have dreamed.


Praise for The Cottage in the Woods

"Charming and engaging. . . . Beautifully written." --School Library Journal, starred review

"As rich with characters from folklore as it is full of heart." --The Wall Street Journal
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 144 pages
  • 148 x 217 x 15mm | 261g
  • Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • illustrations
  • 0553539752
  • 9780553539752
  • 786,727

Review quote

Praise for Ivy:

"Coville creats a cozy fairy-tale-like atmosphere in a story that celebrates nonfonformity and kindness.
--Publishers Weekly

Ivy and her kind, thoughtful granny certainly deserve all the good that awaits them, and the fact that they change some hearts in the meantime is a bonus. --The Bulletin
show more

About Katherine Coville

KATHERINE COVILLE is an artist, a sculptor, and a doll maker who specializes in highly detailed images of creatures never before seen in this world. She has illustrated several books written by her husband, Bruce Coville, including Goblins in the Castle, Aliens Ate My Homework, and the Space Brat series. Bruce and Katherine live in Syracuse, New York, with a varying assortment of pets and children.
show more

Rating details

454 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 30% (134)
4 41% (186)
3 26% (120)
2 2% (10)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X