It Sounded Better in My Head
15%
off

It Sounded Better in My Head

4.02 (1,727 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From debut author Nina Kenwood comes a tender and funny novel about first love and its confusions, and all of the awkwardness of teen romance. When her parents announce their impending divorce, Natalie can't understand why no one is fighting, or at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best friends, hook up, leaving her feeling slightly miffed and decidedly awkward. She'd always imagined she would end up with Zach one day--in the version of her life that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of banter, pining, and meaningful looks. Now everything has changed, and nothing is quite making sense. Until an unexpected romance comes along and shakes things up even further. It Sounded Better in My Head is a compulsively readable love letter to teenage romance in all of its awkward glory, perfect for fans of Booksmart, To All the Boys I've Loved Before, and Emergency Contact.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 213 x 28mm | 340g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250219264
  • 9781250219268
  • 899,016

Review quote

"I am all-caps OBSESSED with this achingly insightful, utterly charming, beautiful heart-punch of a book. Instant favorite." --Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"With candor and affection, It Sounded Better in My Head captures a teenager navigating the final moments of one stage of life and the first moments of the next." --BookPage

"An extraordinary coming-of-age story. Kenwood manages to capture the intensity of disagreement between friends, the unavoidable self-doubts that most teenagers can't help, and the annoying yet silly family banter. A compelling, genuine coming of age story that does not hold back from representing multiple issues that teenagers face." --The Nerd Daily "An authentic coming of-age story that perfectly captures the awkwardness and self-doubt many young adults feel. Teens will see aspects of themselves mirrored in Kenwood's debut." --SLJ "I love, love, loved it." --Melina Marchetta, author of Jellicoe Road "A cute romance featuring a heroine who never before got to feel cute." --Kirkus Reviews "Nina Kenwood has created nuanced and authentic characters, each caught up in their trajectory toward adulthood. A gorgeous and funny coming-of-age novel that perfectly captures the awkward, liminal nature of adolescence." --Books + Publishing, starred review "A deeply tender coming-of-age story about first love, friendship, and all of the horrifying awkwardness of navigating young adulthood. Thrumming with wonderfully nuanced and vividly depicted emotion, this book will make your heart soar, while also making you laugh." --Booktopia "Natalie conveys the difficulties not only of puberty but of moving past internalized negativity in a voice that's sharp, funny, and self-aware, making it even more satisfying for readers to see her realize that she can be the star of her life, not just the sidekick." --Publishers Weekly 2020 Children's Book Council of Australia Notable Book for Older Readers Shortlisted for the Australian Industry Book Awards Book of the Year for Older Children
show more

About Nina Kenwood

Nina Kenwood is the marketing manager at Readings bookshop in Melbourne, Australia. She has worked in the book industry for ten years but has been writing, secretly, for much longer. It Sounded Better in My Head is Nina's first novel.
show more

Rating details

1,727 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 32% (545)
4 45% (770)
3 19% (336)
2 4% (62)
1 1% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X