Island of Bones

Island of Bones

4.03 (1,433 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther's past England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued his forensic studies--and the occasional murder investigation--far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets. When laborers discover an extra body inside the tomb, the lure of the mystery brings Crowther home at last, accompanied by his partner in crime, the forthright Mrs. Harriet Westerman. What Crowther learns will rewrite his family's past--and spill new blood in a land torn between old magic and modern justice. The next installment in a series described as "CSI: Georgian England" (The New York Times Book Review), Island of Bones is a riveting tale that will captivate fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Finch.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 367 pages
  • 148.6 x 214.1 x 18.5mm | 358.33g
  • Penguin Books
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0143123319
  • 9780143123316

Review quote

Praise for Island of Bones
Robertson's superior third historical featuring anatomist Gabriel Crowther and widow Harriet Westerman (after 2012's Anatomy of Murder) makes the most of its revelations about Crowther's backstory . . . First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris. Library Journal
An altogether satisfying historical mystery. Booklist
[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.

The Independent (UK)
"A new Imogen Robertson book is fast becoming something of an event. ...this follow-up does not disappoint. As ever, the characters are enticing and the plot absorbing. If you've not read the previous books, do not despair--they each stand alone. But if you have time on your hands, now is your chance to catch up."
The Daily Mail (UK)

Praise for Anatomy of Murder
Memorable prose, strong and unusual leads, a sophisticated plot with several unexpected turns, and an accurate portrayal of the period all make this a winner.
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Robertson's language is spry . . . her scene-setting broad and detailed, her prose gracefully pressed into the service of a serpentine plot."
Financial Times (UK)
In the overcrowded field of historical fiction, Robertson has the smarts comfortably to outpace most of her rivals. The Independent (UK)

Praise for Instruments of Darkness:
A sensitive melodrama. . . . Robertson s enjoyment of the period and her characters is infectious. The New York Times Book Review (Editor s Choice)

A thoroughly engaging novel, with rich prose and an intricate, suspenseful plot, with melodramatic, Gothic touches in perfect keeping with the historical period. Robertson has already written another Westerman/Crowther mystery. . . . let us hope for many more.

Associated Press

Every so often I encounter a book that makes me think with envy: How I wish I could have written this story! Instruments of Darkness is just that book poetic, enchanting, and chillingly memorable. Imogen Robertson is an exquisite writer, and this is an extraordinary novel.

Tess Gerritsen, author of The Silent Girl

Mayhem runs amok in this period thriller. [Robertson] pulls out all the stops. . . a roaring soap opera of a novel.

The Washington Times

Impressive . . . A ripping homage to Dickens, Austen and Conan Doyle, Instruments of Darkness will keep you up at night, and then, like me, waiting for the sequel.

Seattle Times

The book works splendidly as a period thriller, with complicated leads and informative details that illuminate 18th-century England for modern readers.

Publishers Weekly

This debut is getting some play and should well serve lovers of historical suspense.

Library Journal

show more

About Imogen Robertson

Imogen Robertson worked as a television, film, and radio director before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of four Westerman/Crowther novels: Instruments of Darkness; Anatomy of Murder; Island of Bones, which was short-listed for the 2011 Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Award; and forthcoming from Pamela Dorman Books, Circle of Shadows. In 2012 she was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library. She lives in London.
show more

Rating details

1,433 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 29% (422)
4 48% (684)
3 20% (285)
2 2% (33)
1 1% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X