The Irony of Democracy

The Irony of Democracy

3.92 (113 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$85.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


After 30 years in print, THE IRONY OF DEMOCRACY still offers the freshest, most clear-sighted approach to American government available. In this Twelfth Edition, the authors again present an unrepentantly elitist approach to American democracy--contending that it is the elites and not the masses that govern our country. This edition uses elite theory to provide many new unique insights, including discussion of the 2000 elections and the events surrounding September 11.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 504 pages
  • 187.96 x 231.14 x 20.32mm | 748.42g
  • Wadsworth Publishing Co Inc
  • Belmont, CA, United States
  • Revised
  • 12th Revised edition
  • index
  • 0155061216
  • 9780155061217

Table of contents

The irony of democracy; The founding fathers - the nation's first elite; The evolution of American elites; Elites in America; Masses in America; Elite-mass communication; American political parties - a system in decay; Elections, money, and the myths of democracy; Organized interests - defenders of the status quo; The presidency; The bureaucratic elite; Congress - the legislative elite; Courts - elites in black robes; American federalism - elites in states and communities; Elite response to mass protest; Public policy - how elites make decisions; Epilogue - what can students do?; Appendix - the constitution of the United States of America.
show more

Review quote

"Thomas R. Dye is currently Emeritus Professor of Political Science at Florida State University. He received his B.S. and M.A degrees from Pennsylvania State University and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Pennsylvania. He is the author of numerous books and articles on American government and public policy. He has served as President of the Southern Political Science Association, President of the Policy Studies Organization, and Secretary of the American Political Science Association. He is the recipient of the Harold Lassell Award for career of contributions to the study of public policy, and the Donald C. Stone Award for career contributions to the study of federalism. He received the Outstanding Alumni Award in 2001 from Penn State's College of Liberal Arts. He has taught at the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Wisconsin, and the University of Georgia, and served as visiting scholar at Bar-Elan University, Israel, and the Brookings Institution, Washington, and elsewhere."
show more

Rating details

113 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 32% (36)
4 38% (43)
3 23% (26)
2 5% (6)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X