The Iron Flower
17%
off

The Iron Flower

4.4 (4,928 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Dark forces are on the rise in this sweeping sequel to The Black Witch by critically acclaimed author Laurie Forest. Elloren Gardner and her friends were only seeking to right a few wrongs... The last thing they expected was to be thrust into a realm-wide underground resistance against Gardnerian conquest. While the Resistance struggles to fight back against the harsh rulings of the Mage Council, more Gardnerian soldiers descend upon the University...led by none other than the newly appointed commander, Lukas Grey. Lukas is determined to tie himself to Elloren, still convinced that she is heir to the power of the Black Witch, a legacy that will decide the future of all Erthia. As his own magic calls out to her, Elloren finds it more and more difficult to believe that she's truly powerless. As she navigates the dangerous line of insurgency, Elloren must find a way to stay true to what she knows is right and protect everyone she loves...even if that means protecting them from herself.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 608 pages
  • 165 x 236 x 41mm | 794g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 133591739X
  • 9781335917393
  • 249,865

Review quote

"...fans will be delighted and begging for the next title-and the cliff-hanger ending promises us there will be one." - Booklist "Laurie Forest exceeded my expectations tenfold with an action-packed epic sequel. The Iron Flower is an emotional rollercoaster full of adventure and romance that won't let you go until you finish, and maybe even after...a heartbreakingly beautiful book."
- Selene Kallan, author of The Immortal Heritage Saga "What a sequel!...An amazing second installment to the series." -YA Books Central "This series explores social justice themes with freshness and real depth. That's enough for four stars right there." -Common Sense Media "Exquisite character work, an elaborate mythology, and a spectacularly rendered universe make this a noteworthy debut, which argues passionately against fascism and xenophobia."
-Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Black Witch "This briskly paced, tightly plotted novel enacts the transformative power of education, creating engaging characters set in a rich alternative universe with a complicated history that can help us better understand our own."
-Kirkus Reviews, starred review on The Black Witch * "Fans of Harry Potter and Tamora Pierce will gobble down the 600-plus pages and demand the sequel."
-Booklist, starred review on The Black Witch "I absolutely loved The Black Witch and will have a very hard time waiting for the second book! Maximum suspense, unusual magic--a whole new, thrilling approach to fantasy!"
-Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author on The Black Witch "This very engaging YA series deals with difficult topics such as prejudice, hate, intolerance, and stereotypes of other cultures and races...And, yes, some characters have supernatural powers and there is also romance. I would love to see this book as a movie." - American Booksellers Association on The Black Witch
show more

Rating details

4,928 ratings
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 56% (2,771)
4 31% (1,527)
3 10% (495)
2 2% (103)
1 1% (32)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X