An Irish Country Village

An Irish Country Village

4.05 (5,385 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with "An Irish Country Doctor, " a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there's always something brewing beneath the village's deceptively sleepy surface.
Young Doctor Barry Laverty has only just begun his assistantship under his eccentric mentor, Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly, but he already feels right at home in Ballybucklebo. When the sudden death of a patient casts a cloud over Barry's reputation, his chances of establishing himself in the village are endangered, especially since the grieving widow is threatening a lawsuit.
While he anxiously waits for the postmortem results that he prays will exonerate him, Barry must regain the trust of the gossipy Ulster village, one patient at a time. From a put-upon shop girl with a mysterious rash to the troubled pregnancy of a winsome young lass who's not quite married yet, Ballybucklebo provides plenty of cases to keep the two country G.P.s busy.
Not all their challenges are medical in nature. When a greedy developer sets his sights on the very heart of the community, the village pub, it's up to the doctors to save the Black Swan (affectionately known to the locals as the "Mucky Duck") from being turned into an overpriced tourist trap. After all, the good citizens of Ballybucklebo need some place to drink to each other's health. . . .
Whether you've visited in the past, or are discovering Ballybucklebo for the first time, "An Irish Country Village" is an ideal location for anyone looking for wit, warmth, and just a touch of blarney.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 157.48 x 241.3 x 40.64mm | 703.06g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Hardcover.
  • 0765316242
  • 9780765316240
  • 1,259,135

Review quote

Highly readable. . . . Detailed medical procedures of the era are fascinating to a modern reader. . . . The book, with its spot-on dialects and neatly tied endings, largely succeeds as light entertainment. "Publishers Weekly on An Irish Country Village" Full of stories and vivid characters, the novel recalls a good night in a pub. Its greatest charm lies in homey Ulster idioms. . . . Good, light entertainment. "Booklist on An Irish Country Village" "An Irish Country Doctor" makes for escapist, delightful fun. "Publishers Weekly" Ballybucklebo is an easy place for readers to sink into, with likable characters and atmospheric dialogue. "Kirkus Reviews on An Irish Country Doctor"" "Highly readable. . . . Detailed medical procedures of the era are fascinating to a modern reader. . . . The book, with its spot-on dialects and neatly tied endings, largely succeeds as light entertainment."--"Publishers Weekly" on "An Irish Country Village""Full of stories and vivid characters, the novel recalls a good night in a pub. Its greatest charm lies in homey Ulster idioms. . . . Good, light entertainment."--"Booklist" on "An Irish Country Village"""An Irish Country Doctor" makes for escapist, delightful fun."--"Publishers Weekly""Ballybucklebo is an easy place for readers to sink into, with likable characters and atmospheric dialogue."--"Kirkus Reviews" on "An Irish Country Doctor" "Highly readable. . . . Detailed medical procedures of the era are fascinating to a modern reader. . . . The book, with its spot-on dialects and neatly tied endings, largely succeeds as light entertainment."-"Publishers Weekly" on "An Irish Country Village ""Full of stories and vivid characters, the novel recalls a good night in a pub. Its greatest charm lies in homey Ulster idioms. . . . Good, light entertainment."-"Booklist" on "An Irish Country Village """An Irish Country Doctor" makes for escapist, delightful fun."-"Publishers Weekly ""Ballybucklebo is an easy place for readers to sink into, with likable characters and atmospheric dialogue."-"Kirkus Reviews" on "An Irish Country Doctor" "Highly readable. . . . Detailed medical procedures of the era are fascinating to a modern reader. . . . The book, with its spot-on dialects and neatly tied endings, largely succeeds as light entertainment."--"Publishers Weekly" on "An Irish Country Village ""Full of stories and vivid characters, the novel recalls a good night in a pub. Its greatest charm lies in homey Ulster idioms. . . . Good, light entertainment."--"Booklist" on "An Irish Country Village """An Irish Country Doctor" makes for escapist, delightful fun."--"Publishers Weekly ""Ballybucklebo is an easy place for readers to sink into, with likable characters and atmospheric dialogue."--"Kirkus Reviews" on "An Irish Country Doctor" ""An Irish Country Doctor" makes for escapist, delightful fun."--"Publishers Weekly" "Ballybucklebo is an easy place for readers to sink into, with likable characters and atmospheric dialogue."--"Kirkus Reviews" on "An Irish Country Doctor" "Wraps you in the sensations of a vanished time and place.""--The Vancouver Sun" on "An Irish Country Doctor """An Irish Country Doctor"" "has only incidentally an Irish location--it deals with eccentric, funny humans, dogs, cats, and cattle. This book is written with compassion and hilarity about a community whose inhabitants are as wonderful and loony as any on earth. A grand read from a grand man."--Malachy McCourt, "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Monk Swimming ""At last! Here is an authentic Northern Ireland voice. A full cupboard of delightful characters, both human and animal, enriches every page. Quirky, funny, and deeply moving by turns, Taylor's writing perfectly captures the language and character of Ulster in times gone by. I promise you will enjoy this book immensely; I did."--Morgan Llywelyn, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Last Prince of Ireland" on "An Irish Country Doctor""With an unerring eye for detail, the talents of a natural storyteller, and the ability to pepper his anecdotes with large doses of wit and humor, Patrick Taylor has written a delightful novel . . . the lives of the engaging and eccentric townspeople, whose hilarious mishaps provide a perfect foil for the endeavors of the town's medical men.""--Calgary Herald" on "An Irish Country Doctor"
show more

About Patrick Taylor

Patrick Taylor, M.D., is the author of the Irish Country books, including "An Irish Country Doctor," "An Irish Country Christmas," "An Irish Country Girl," and "An Irish Country Courtship." Taylor was born and raised in Bangor, County Down in Northern Ireland. After qualifying as a specialist in 1969, he worked in Canada for thirty-one years. He now lives on Saltspring Island, British Columbia.
show more

Rating details

5,385 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 33% (1,757)
4 44% (2,351)
3 21% (1,106)
2 3% (137)
1 1% (34)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X