The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor's Secret

3.63 (3,385 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure. In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain's industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire's Machineworks.

The Inventor's Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.


Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 373 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 36mm | 476g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0399159622
  • 9780399159626
  • 526,444

Review quote

Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET: * "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA *STARRED* "[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Andrea Cremer

Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, Rift and Rise. She is also the author of the Inventor's Secret series, and of Invisibility, which she co-wrote with David Levithan. She lives in Claremont, CA. You can visit her online at www.AndreaCremer.com or follow her on Twitter @andreacremer.
show more

Rating details

3,385 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 24% (801)
4 33% (1,113)
3 31% (1,042)
2 9% (309)
1 4% (120)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X