The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor's Secret

3.63 (2,898 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A new steampunk series from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels
Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.
In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire s Machineworks.

"
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 383 pages
  • 139.7 x 208.28 x 35.56mm | 340.19g
  • SPEAK
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 014751438X
  • 9780147514387
  • 590,657

Review quote

Original and highly entertaining . . . Cremer delivers it all: intrigue, romance, dangerous adventures, imaginative machines, and perilous secrets. What more could anyone ask for? This is a delightful read. The New York Journal of Books
"Cremer does most everything right here: her fantastical colonial setting is well imagined, the characters have depth, and the adventures are heart-stopping."--Booklist
"On balance, it s an entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews


"
show more

About Andrea Cremer

Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includesNightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Snakeroot, RiftandRise. She is also the author ofInvisibility, which she co-wrote with David Levithan. When she's not writing novels, Andrea puts her Ph.D. to work teaching classes in writing and history at Macalester College. She splits her time between New York City and Minneapolis.You can visit her online at www.AndreaCremer.com or follow her on Twitter @andreacremer."
show more

Review Text

"Original and highly entertaining . . . Cremer delivers it all: intrigue , romance , dangerous adventures , imaginative machines, and perilous secrets . What more could anyone ask for? This is a delightful read."- The New York Journal of Books

"Cremer does most everything right here: her fantastical colonial setting is well imagined, the characters have depth, and the adventures are heart-stopping ."-- Booklist

"On balance, it's an entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."-- Kirkus Reviews
show more

Rating details

2,898 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 24% (697)
4 32% (935)
3 31% (896)
2 9% (263)
1 4% (107)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X