Into the Wilderness

Into the Wilderness : The Long Hunters

3.86 (120 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Set in 1750's Pennsylvania, INTO THE WILDERNESS depicts life in the Allegheny Mountains and the Northeast at the beginning of the French and Indian War. Noah Wilde is a "long hunter," a man who hunts game for settlements and forts and is sometimes gone for months at a time. Sixteen-year-old Jessica Matthews is attacked by Ottawa Indians and is saved by Noah, who is wounded in the encounter. As Noah recovers at Jessica's mountain cabin, he and Jessica fall in love, but Noah, who is secretly spying for the English government, has a mission to fulfill and is forced to leave once he recovers. Noah's role in an earlier French versus English battle forces his imprisonment, and he is unable to return to Jessica in time to save her and her family from an Indian attack that leaves her parents and brother dead and sees Jessica captured by Delaware Indians. After his release, Noah is sent on a new mission with a young George Washington, and when he discovers what happened to Jessica, he leaves to search for her. He once again risks his life to free her. Although Noah and Jessica are fictitious characters, INTO THE WILDERNESS is filled with real history, characters, and adventures that depict the courage and determination necessary for the birth and growth of the United States of America.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 106.68 x 170.18 x 27.94mm | 90.72g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765340224
  • 9780765340221
  • 2,207,343

Review quote

"Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms." --Publishers Weekly"The author's clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start." --Publishers Weekly"Fans of The Last of the Mohicans and Donald Clayton Porter's 'White Indian' series will find this book satisfying." --Library Journal"The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series." --Romantic Times Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms. "Publishers Weekly" The author's clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start. "Publishers Weekly" Fans of "The Last of the Mohicans" and Donald Clayton Porter's White Indian' series will find this book satisfying. "Library Journal" The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series. "Romantic Times"" "Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms."--"Publishers Weekly" "The author's clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start."--"Publishers Weekly" "Fans of "The Last of the Mohicans" and Donald Clayton Porter's 'White Indian' series will find this book satisfying."--"Library Journal" "The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series."--"Romantic Times" "Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms."-"Publishers Weekly" "The author's clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start."-"Publishers Weekly" "Fans of "The Last of the Mohicans" and Donald Clayton Porter's 'White Indian' series will find this book satisfying."-"Library Journal" "The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series."-"Romantic Times" " Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms." -- "Publishers Weekly" " The author' s clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start." -- "Publishers Weekly" " Fans of "The Last of the Mohicans" and Donald Clayton Porter' s ' White Indian' series will find this book satisfying." -- "Library Journal" " The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series." -- "Romantic Times"show more

About Rosanne Bittner

Rosanne Bittner and her husband, Larry, live in southwest Michigan and have two grown sons. Ms. Bittner is the author of more than fifty books about the American West of the 1800s and Native Americans. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Western Writers of America, Western Outlaw-Lawman History Association, Nebraska Historical Society, Oregon-California Trails Association, the Council on America's Military Past, and Women Writing the West. She has received numerous writing awards and several of her books have been published in translation in France, Italy, Norway, Germany, Taiwan, and Russia.show more

Rating details

120 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 39% (47)
4 22% (27)
3 28% (34)
2 6% (7)
1 4% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X