Insignia

Insignia

4.15 (14,452 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."--Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 136 x 202 x 30mm | 358g
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062093002
  • 9780062093004
  • 363,660

Back cover copy

It's World War III. The enemy is winning. What if the government's secret weapon is you?

Video gamer Tom Raines has been recruited for the chance of a lifetime: to train at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy, in preparation for becoming a member of the Intrasolar Forces. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom's always wanted and never had--friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters--but what will it cost him?

Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaid's futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous humor, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology.
show more

Review quote

"Hip, high-tech, and hilarious, INSIGNIA made my heart soar and left me with impossible-to-shake questions about technology, reality, and war."--Rae Carson, author of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS--Rae Carson
show more

Rating details

14,452 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 43% (6,216)
4 36% (5,219)
3 15% (2,222)
2 4% (545)
1 2% (250)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X