Inside the Tardis

Inside the Tardis : The Worlds of "Doctor Who"

3.7 (77 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


James Chapman's history of Doctor Who has been acclaimed by fans and scholars alike as a definitive book on the world's longest-running television science fiction series. In this new edition, published to mark the 50th anniversary of everyone's favourite Time Lord, Chapman has brought the story up to date to include the new series of Doctor Who as well as its spin offs Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures. With new material on the eras of showrunners Russell T. Davies and Steven Moffat, and the latest incarnations of the Doctor in David Tennant and Matt Smith, this updated edition of Inside the Tardis shows how Doctor Who has triumphantly reinvented itself for the twenty-first century. Doctor Who has not only become essential viewing once again, but it is also one of television's most successful exports. Chapman maps both the continuities with classic Doctor Who, as well as exploring how the series has evolved to take account of new institutional and cultural contexts. Written by someone who is a life-long Doctor Who fan as well as a historian, this new edition of Inside the Tardis is essential and enjoyable reading for all those interested in both the classic series and its thoroughly modern more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 32mm | 379.99g
  • I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd.
  • I.B.Tauris
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • Revised ed.
  • 1780761406
  • 9781780761404
  • 253,169

Review quote

'The best overview of Doctor Who that I have ever read.' - Andrew Pixley, Doctor Who Magazine 'I suspect it may well be the best overview of Doctor Who that I have ever read' 'If you're keen to understand why this wonderful show has been such a success and have it set in context, now is your chance to enter the world of academia and see Dotor Who from a new and rewarding perspective.' Andrew Pixley, Doctor Who Magazine, March 2006 'Chapman's approach is unpretentious, readable, solidly authoritative and self-consciously anti-theoretical.' 'Chapman's nook is an extremely good starting point for anyone wishing to think seriously about Doctor Who.' - Independent on Sunday 'A serious-minded "cultural history" which sets out to examine how the series "maps the shifting cultural landscape of Britain... Illuminating."' Jon Barnes, Times Literary Supplement 'Inside the Tardis is a sideways look at the history of broadcasting since the 1960s As the show skips from crabbit William Hartnoll to David Tennant, Paisley's first Time Lord, we see how changes at the BBC affected the show.' - Sunday Herald 'A genuinely worthwhile addition to the library-full of books about the series.' - Starburst ' James Chapman has written an absorbing, highly readable account of the series. This is an intelligent, well-balanced work that thanks to the BBC archives, brings something genuinely new to the party.' - SFX Magazine 'What really distinguishes Inside the Tardis from the scores of other histories of Doctor Who is the access Chapman was given to the BBC Written Archives in Caversham... allowing a fascinating glimpse into the minds and personalities of the various Doctor Who production teams.' - SFX Magazineshow more

About James Chapman

James Chapman is Professor of Film at the University of Leicester. He is a leading cinema and television historian and his books from I.B. Tauris include Licence To Thrill: A Cultural History of the James Bond Films, Saints and Avengers: British Adventure Series of the 1960s, Past and Present: National Identity and the British Historical Film, and (with Nicholas J. Cull) Projecting Empire: Imperialism and Popular Cinema and Projecting Tomorrow: Science Fiction and Popular more

Table of contents

Preface to the Second Edition Chapter 1 A Space-Age Old Curiosity Shop (1963-1966) Chapter 2 Monsters, Inc (1966-1969) Chapter 3 Earthbound (1970-1974) Chapter 4 High Gothic (1975-1977) Chapter 5 High Camp (1977-1980) Chapter 6 New Directions (1980-1984) Chapter 7 Trials of a Time Lord (1985-1989) Chapter 8 Millennial Anxieties (1996) Chapter 9 Second Coming 2005 Chapter 10 Love and Monsters 2006-2009 Chapter 11 Aliens of Cardiff 2006-2011 Chapter 12 Sarah Jane and Company 2007-2011 Chapter 13 Golden Jubilee 2010-2013 Appendices Lost Episodes Production Credits Notes Bibliography Indexshow more

Rating details

77 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 18% (14)
4 43% (33)
3 31% (24)
2 6% (5)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X