Ink & Sigil

Ink & Sigil : Book 1 of the Ink & Sigil series - from the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles

4.17 (4,780 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'A NEW, ACTION-PACKED, ENCHANTINGLY FUN SERIES' Booklist

From New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne comes the start of a hugely entertaining new series set in the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles - about an eccentric master of magic solving an uncanny mystery in Scotland . . .

Al MacBharrais is both blessed and cursed. He is blessed with an extraordinary white moustache, an appreciation for craft cocktails - and a most unique magical talent. He can cast spells with magically enchanted ink and he uses his gifts to protect our world from rogue minions of various pantheons, especially the Fae.

But he is also cursed. Anyone who hears his voice will begin to feel an inexplicable hatred for Al, so he can only communicate through the written word or speech apps. And his apprentices keep dying in peculiar freak accidents. As his personal life crumbles around him, he devotes his life to his work, all the while trying to crack the secret of his curse.

But when his latest apprentice, Gordie, turns up dead in his Glasgow flat, Al discovers evidence that Gordie was living a secret life of crime. Now Al is forced to play detective - while avoiding actual detectives who are wondering why death seems to always follow Al. Investigating his apprentice's death will take him through Scotland's magical underworld, and he'll need the help of a mischievous hobgoblin if he's to survive.

Packed to the brim with mystery, magic and mayhem, Ink & Sigil is perfect for fans of Rivers of London and Rotherweird.

Praise for Ink & Sigil:

'You are in for a great treat. Ink and Sigil is great escape reading, and I loved every word' Charlaine Harris, New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse books

'Will transport you right in the Scottish realm of fey and fairies . . . The magic is both familiar and new, believable and extraordinary' Charlie Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician

'Vividly blends Kevin Hearne's unique take on urban fantasy with the grit of Scottish magic' Adam Christopher, author of Empire State

'Ink & Sigil is filled to the brim with the Hearne-anigans we've all grown to love. Fans of ribald humor, literary puns and the odd hobgoblin will be enchanted by this paranormal mystery' Jaye Wells, author of the Prospero's War series
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 30mm | 232g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9780356515236
  • 29,091

Review Text

You are in for a great treat. Ink & Sigil is great escape reading, and I loved every word Charlaine Harris
show more

Review quote

You are in for a great treat. Ink & Sigil is great escape reading, and I loved every word * Charlaine Harris * [A] terrific kick-off of a new, action-packed, enchantingly fun series * BOOKLIST * Delightful! * LIBRARY JOURNAL * Kevin Hearne's Ink and Sigil is a novel that will transport you right in the Scottish realm of fey and fairies and have you thinking the "other" is real. The magic is both familiar and new, believable and extraordinary -- Charlie Holmberg, author of THE PAPER MAGICIAN Kevin Hearne has used ink and paper to craft his own brand of magic. Ink & Sigil is filled to the brim with the Hearne-anigans we've all grown to love. Fans of ribald humor, literary puns, and the odd hobgoblin will be enchanted by this paranormal mystery -- Jaye Wells, author of the Prospero's War series A delightfully grimy journey through the hidden underworld of Glasgow, Ink & Sigil vividly blends Kevin Hearne's unique take on urban fantasy with the grit of Scottish magic -- Adam Christopher, author of EMPIRE STATE
show more

About Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne hugs trees, pets doggies, and rocks out to heavy metal. He also thinks tacos are a pretty nifty idea. He is the author of the Seven Kenning series, which starts with A Plague of Giants, and the New York Times bestselling series Iron Druid Chronicles.
show more

Rating details

4,780 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 40% (1,915)
4 41% (1,960)
3 16% (748)
2 2% (114)
1 1% (43)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X