Initiation and Captive
18%
off

Initiation and Captive

3.95 (20,705 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

With love, witchcraft, and spellbinding drama, the Secret Circle series is perfect for fans of The Vampire Diaries. This special paperback bind-up contains the first book in the Secret Circle series, The Initiation, as well as part one of the second book in the series, The Captive; from L.J. Smith, the New York Times bestselling author of The Vampire Diaries. When Cassie is forced to move from California all the way to the small New England town of New Salem, she's miserable. And yet, she feels a powerful kinship to the town, and to a terrifyingly beautiful group of students who always seem to get their way. Charmed by the Secret Circle, Cassie is initiated into a coven of witches whose power has controlled New Salem for hundreds of years. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, she is faced with the most pressing danger of her life--and one wrong move could ultimately destroy her...show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 396 pages
  • 134.62 x 203.2 x 30.48mm | 226.8g
  • HarperCollins
  • Harper Teen
  • New York, NY, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0061670855
  • 9780061670855
  • 24,198

Back cover copy

The circle's power has lured her home Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie longs for her old life. Even so, she feels a strange kinship to a terrifying group of teens who seem to rule her school. Initiated into the coven of witches that's controlled New Salem for hundreds of years, she's drawn into the Secret Circle, a thrill that's both intoxicating and deadly. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, Cassie must choose whether to resist temptation or risk dark forces to get what she wants--even if it means that one wrong move could ultimately destroy her.show more

Review quote

Praise for The Secret Circle: The Divide: Attractive teens; hot, but innocent, romance dangerous adventures all guarantee popular appeal Main character, Cassie, is both likable and realistic Stir in suspense filled scenes and Smith bewitches readers into clamoring for more. --Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)"show more

Review Text

The circle's power has lured her homeForced to move from sunny California to gloomy New...show more

Rating details

20,705 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 38% (7,824)
4 31% (6,382)
3 23% (4,677)
2 7% (1,382)
1 2% (440)

Our customer reviews

L. J. Smith exceeds herself with the reissue of THE SECRET CIRCLE. Though some of her older books, especially THE VAMPIRE DIARIES, are a delight to read, THE SECRET CIRCLE is leagues ahead in not only writing skill but in plot and characterization, as well. The main character, Cassie (who coincidentally shares a first name with this reviewer), is likeable and easy to relate to as a plain, shy, sixteen-year-old girl. After moving to New Salem to live with her mother and estranged grandmother, Cassie finds herself included in her new school's intimidating secret club. Once she is initiated as a witch, Cassie soon finds out that the beautiful boy she fell in love with over the summer is part of the coven, too. Cassie must sacrifice true love in order to protect her adopted "sister," Diana, but what else will she have to sacrifice? And what does the club's rebel member, Faye, have to do with the cursed crystal skull and the mysterious deaths in New Salem? Ending with a breathtaking cliffhanger, L. J. Smith's THE SECRET CIRCLE will leave you begging for more.show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X