The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV : The Interrupted Tale

4.14 (2,793 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


The fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place-the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart-has a brand-new look.

Turning sixteen is a bittersweet occasion for Miss Penelope Lumley. Luckily, an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females provides just the diversion Penelope needs.

Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar. And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so they can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater-and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles-hangs in the balance.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 128 x 188 x 32mm | 240g
  • Balzer and Bray
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0061791237
  • 9780061791239
  • 82,367

Back cover copy

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: "They must have been raised by wolves." The Incorrigible children actually were.

When Miss Penelope Lumley is invited to speak at the Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition, she expects the trip to her alma mater to be a piece of cake--or rather, CAKE. Alas, something ominous is afoot at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, and her old enemy, Judge Quinzy, is the reason why. With the help of a friendly pirate, some talented chickens, and those clever Incorrigible children, Penelope won't be easily defeated. To save the school, she must find out precisely what lies within the covers of a strange diary about shipwrecks and cannibals she found in Lord Fredrick Ashton's library. Too bad the pages are unreadable . . . or are they?
show more

Review quote

"Happily, the mysteries deepen at Ashton Place in this fourth volume in the Incorrigible Children series. Once again delightful wordplay and a plot that snakes itself around a suspicious family tree add to the deliciousness." -- Booklist (starred review), about The Interrupted Tale (Book 4)
show more

About Maryrose Wood

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.
show more

Rating details

2,793 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 35% (979)
4 46% (1,280)
3 18% (492)
2 1% (32)
1 0% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X