Incarceron

Incarceron

3.64 (50,559 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A thrilling, high-concept fantasy for fans of Garth Nix and Nancy Farmer. "Incarceron" is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible. And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside- she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison, and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don't realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye. Escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 442 pages
  • 144.78 x 210.82 x 40.64mm | 544.31g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Dial Books for Young Readers,US
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0803733968
  • 9780803733961
  • 268,397

About Catherine Fisher

Catherine Fisher is an acclaimed novelist and poet, and has written many fantasy books for young people, including the popular "Oracle Betrayed" series. She lives in Wales.show more

Review quote

?Fisher creates a world of danger and suspense that will keep readers ensnared.? ? "BookPage" ?Fisher scores a resounding success in this beautifully imagined science fantasy? Complex and inventive with numerous and rewarding mysteries.? ? "The San Francisco Examiner" ?TOP PICK! Readers will be left anxiously awaiting a sequel.? ? "Romantic Times" "Fisher's characters are emotionally resonant, flawed, determined, and plagued by metaphysical questions... With some well-timed shocking twists and a killer ending, this is a must have.? ? "Booklist", starred review "Fisher's dystopic future, in which technology and decay coexist in a dazzling kaleidoscope of images and time periods, is brilliantly realized? Elegant, gritty, often surprising.? ? "The Horn Book", starred review ?Fisher scores a resounding success in this beautifully imagined science fantasy.? - "Publishers Weekly," starred review ?By delving into the philosophy of imprisonment and the development of society;show more

Our customer reviews

Above all, Time is forbidden. From now on nothing will change. After the Years of Rage, King Endor's Decree bans progress, pausing the world in an old-fashioned era of medieval dress and travel by horse-drawn carriage. Though advanced technology exists, it is expressly forbidden, and everyone must abide to Protocol. Incarceron is an exception to this rule. A prison that some are born into and that nobody ever escapes, Incarceron is not a building, but an entire underground network of cities and wilderness entrapping prisoners in its vastness. Most prisoners have never seen the Outside and can only imagine what the stars and sky might be like. Surely more spectacular than Incarceron's Lightson and Lightsoff. Finn believes that he came from Outside. Though he cannot remember a previous life, his mysterious seizures and visions hint that he was not always an Incarceron captive. When he discovers a mystical crystal key through a tragic turn of events, he just knows that the key will lead them to Escape from the treacherous clutches of Incarceron once and for all. A duplicate of the key that Finn found belongs to the Warden of Incarceron. He lives on the Outside and is thrilled that his daughter, Claudia, is about to wed Caspar, heir to the throne. After years of scheming and social climbing, he will finally have the power that he craves. Claudia, while groomed since birth to be a queen, is not merely her father's puppet. With a mind of her own, and no intention to marry the arrogant Caspar, Claudia pines for the one to whom she was first betrothed - Giles. Giles was the prince and heir to the throne before his unexpected death while riding alone. An investigation was never officially undertaken, but Claudia has always suspected that the new queen, Sia, played a role in Giles' death so that her son, Caspar, could ascend to the throne. Refusing to be pawns in a royal power struggle, both Claudia and Finn are determined to uncover Incarceron's secrets. What they don't count on, though, is that Incarceron is not just a prison. Incarceron is alive. Catherine Fisher creates a fantasy world unlike any other, playing upon classic themes of courage, justice, and truth to weave a page-turning adventure tale. INCARCERON reminds me strongly of Orwell's 1984 with a fantastical twist. Fisher's plot twists are clever and her ambiguous ending leaves the reader craving more. Look for the sequel, SAPPHIQUE, soon.show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X