Imaginary Girls
12%
off

Imaginary Girls

3.4 (6,235 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A beautiful and chilling story for fans of Lauren Oliver and Lisa McMann Chloe's older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can't be contained or caged. When a night with Ruby's friends goes horribly wrong and Chloe discovers the body of her classmate London Hayes left floating in the reservoir, Chloe is sent away from town and away from Ruby. But Ruby will do anything to get her sister back, and when Chloe returns to town two years later, deadly surprises await. As Chloe flirts with the truth that Ruby has deeply hidden away, the fragile line between life and death is redrawn by the complex bonds of sisterhood.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 348 pages
  • 138 x 208 x 30mm | 281.23g
  • Penguin Books India Pvt Ltd
  • New Delhi, India
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 014242143X
  • 9780142421437
  • 224,101

About Nova Ren Suma

Nova Ren Suma studied writing and photography at Antioch College in Ohio and went on to receive an MFA in creative writing/fiction from Columbia University. She lives in New York City.show more

Review quote

"Eerie and gripping and told with lush and inviting scenes, "Imaginary Girls" will haunt its readers. An intensely vivid portrayal of love and no-choice loyalty and power that has no easy answers." - Aimee Bender, author of "The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake" "A surreal little nightmare in book form. I just loved it. Nova Ren Suma's voice is unique and riveting, and so is the indelible Ruby, who dominates the reader from the very first page. It's the book everyone will be dying to talk about." - Nancy Werlin, author of "Impossible" and "Extraordinary"show more

Rating details

6,235 ratings
3.4 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,333)
4 27% (1,679)
3 29% (1,837)
2 16% (975)
1 7% (411)

Our customer reviews

Ruby and Chloe are sisters and so close nobody could ever separate them. They are family and best friends, until one unfortunate night in which one of Chloe's classmates is found dead in the city reservoir and Chloe leaves town and Ruby for two years. When she returns things have changed and she's beginning to see Ruby with different eyes, too. The reservoir, presented as a dark and mysterious power, held no fascination for me and the story around the flooded town of Olive didn�???�??�?�¢??t creep me out like it creeped out other readers. Ruby is so bossy and too self-absorbed to be good for anyone. Chloe would be much better off without her and could have been an amiable character without her constantly admiring her sister and protecting her impossible behavior. A possible romance for Chloe was hinted at, pretty frustrating was that it was never fully carried out till the end. The story in its entirety was all kinds of hazy and the sisters' bond never felt real to me. IMGINARY GIRLS has some of the most unsympathetic characters I have ever encountered and I just didn't get it. The whole point, the story, the sisters' relationship, Ruby. I better leave it at that. 2/5 ** IMAGINARY GIRLS �???�??�?�¢?? Unreal and indefinable in many ways! Only a few pages into IMAGINARY GIRLS and I knew this wasn�???�??�?�¢??t my kind of story. I stumbled from scene to scene and sadly never felt at ease with Chloe, Ruby or the story in general. Somehow I missed the essential meaning of this story and everything felt kind of pointless and like the glue between scenes was missing.show more
by MissPageTurner
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X