The Illusion of Murder

The Illusion of Murder

3.65 (265 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"The intrepid Nellie Bly--Victorian Age detective, reporter, and feminist--embarks on an adventure that will test her courage and determine the fate of nations..." Jules Verne challenges Nellie to travel around the world in less than the eighty days it took his fictional hero. Nellie knows she has what it takes, even if her publisher, Joseph Pulitzer, thinks the journey is far too dangerous for any woman to attempt. But when Nellie witnesses a tragic murder and is drawn into a mystifying web of international intrigue, she realizes that she may indeed be in over her head. As Nellie sails from the Land of the Pharaohs to the exotic Orient and across the Pacific, a killer follows. It will take every ounce of Nellie Bly's charm and boundless determination to circumnavigate the globe, find a murderer, and stay alive.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 483 pages
  • 104.14 x 170.18 x 35.56mm | 204.12g
  • FORGE
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0765361760
  • 9780765361769
  • 999,861

Review quote

"Delightful and well-researched."--"Mystery Scene ""A top-of-the-line read from an innovative author."--"RT Book Reviews ""What a stroke of genius that McCleary chose an early female pioneer of journalism for her sleuth. Nellie proves herself more than capable of racing around the world while solving a couple of murders. Fans of Suzanne Arruda and Rhys Bowen will love this one."--"Library Journal", starred reviewshow more

About Carol McCleary

CAROL MCCLEARY was born in Seoul, Korea, and lived in Hong Kong, Japan, and the Philippines. She now lives on Cape Cod in an antique house that is haunted by ghosts. McCleary is the author of "The Alchemy of Murder" and "The Illusion of Murder." She is currently working on her third Nellie Bly novel.show more

Rating details

265 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 19% (51)
4 38% (101)
3 33% (88)
2 8% (20)
1 2% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X