If I'm Being Honest
23%
off

If I'm Being Honest

4.3 (117 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Cameron Bright's reputation can be summed up in one word: b*tch. It's no surprise she's queen bee at her private L.A. high school - she's beautiful, talented, and notorious for her brutal honesty. But when she slips up in front of her crush, Andrew, any affection he may have had for her quickly fades. To win him over, Cameron resolves to "tame" herself, much like Shakespeare's infamous shrew, Katherine. If she makes amends with everyone she's ever wronged, Andrew will have to take notice. Thus, Cameron begins her apology tour with Brendan, the guy whose social life she single handedly destroyed. At first, Brendan isn't so quick to forgive, but slowly he warms to her when they connect over a computer game he's developing. To Cameron's amazement, she actually enjoys hanging out with Brendan; he appreciates her honesty in a way Andrew never did, and she's left wondering: maybe you shouldn't have to compromise who you are for the kind of love you deserve.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 149 x 216 x 37mm | 486g
  • VIKING JUVENILE
  • United States
  • English
  • 0451481097
  • 9780451481092
  • 8,898

Review quote

Praise for Always Never Yours

"Every page bursts with humor, squee-inducing romance, and an abiding sense of the deep love and joy of its two writers . . . Always Never Yours is a necessary, feel-good addition to the YA canon."--Entertainment Weekly "This contemporary romance is equal parts swoony, delightful, and heartfelt with a refreshingly empowered main character that's sure to charm you all the way to the end."--Buzzfeed

"Smart, Shakespearean, and packed with banter of the highest order, this book is a delight, and guaranteed to be one of my--and your--favorite rom-coms of the year."--BN Teen Blog

"Perfect for the hopeless romantic."--POPSUGAR

"An utterly charming story of love, family, heartbreak, and drama. I absolutely loved it!"--Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of Save the Date

"One of the best, most painfully real and hilarious portrayals of teen life that I've read. Kick-ass, poignant, achingly funny and spot on. This book has it all--a stand-up hero, strong friendships, witty banter, serious life questions. How do I love it? Let me count the ways."--Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door

"In Always Never Yours, as in all of the best Shakespearean send-ups, the course of true love does not run smoothly, but it sure is swoony. You can't help but root for Megan, the novel's funny, bold, unapologetic and endearing heroine, as she struggles to learn that she too is brave enough to be the star of her own story."--Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

"Romance, humor, and a spunky heroine the Bard himself would surely get behind! Feminist readers will root for Megan on her complicated-but-charming quest for true love."--Micol Ostow, bestselling author of Mean Girls: A Novel with Tina Fey

"Shakespeare fans, this book was written for you! The witty, seductive characters, the incredible plot -- there is no doubt that all types of YA readers will find something to swoon over in this high school love story."--RT Reviews

"A funny, roman-tic and memorable story."--BookPage

"Utterly binge-worthy, this is a story about the theater, a girl, and her hilarious yet heartbreaking love life . . . Witty banter and endearing characters make this high school romance a delight to read."--Brightly

"A contemporary romantic comedy with wit, heart, and spot-on pacing."--Forever Young Adult

"Real-life romantic partners Wibberley (the Last Oracle series) and Siegemund-Broka (making his YA debut) collaborated in this theater-centered novel . . . the coauthors wisely balance out the romance with family drama, and Megan's commitment to a future life in the theater will please readers who share a similar love of Shakespeare and want a little romance to go with their drama"--Publishers Weekly

"Megan and Owen's flirty, whip-smart banter is irresistible, and it's refreshing to see a swoonworthy Asian male love interest . . . Charming characters and an enchanting exploration of Shakespeare's romantic tragedy make this debut a must-read."--Kirkus Reviews

"A delightful, light romance readers won't be able to put down."--SLJ

"It is refreshing to see a female character portrayed as fearless and comfortable with her own physicality . . . Supporting characters include a realistically diverse group of friends, and their interactions are authentic. Fans of Jenny Han and Kasie West will root for Megan's happiness.--VOYA
show more

About Emily Wibberley

Raised by a school librarian, Austin's always had a passion for books, especially books for young people. He met and fell in love with Emily in high school and went to Harvard University as an undergraduate. He studied English (focusing on Shakespeare) and graduated magna cum laude in 2014. Recently, Austin worked as a journalist for The Hollywood Reporter. He is currently a UCLA law student; however there's nothing he loves like writing with Emily. Emily, whose parents are screenwriters, has loved writing and story-telling since an age she hardly remembers. Since meeting Austin (she says it was middle school--accounts vary), Emily attended Princeton University as an undergraduate, studied psychology, and graduated magna cum laude in 2014. While at Princeton, she wrote the first novel in her self-published YA fantasy trilogy, The Last Oracle, which was featured in USA Today and was a finalist for the Next Generation Indie Book Awards.
show more

Rating details

117 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 54% (63)
4 32% (37)
3 9% (11)
2 2% (2)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X