An Ideal Wine
8%
off

An Ideal Wine : One Generation's Pursuit of Perfection - And Profit - In California

3.63 (52 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

FromDavid Darlington, author of the acclaimed Angels' Visits (published inpaperback as Zin), comes an inside look at howa handful of visionary winemakers has transformed--and been transformed by--theCalifornia wine industry over the past four decades. In the tradition of TheWidow Clicquot and The Billionaire's Vinegar, Darlington's An Ideal Wine is afascinating, lively tale of vision and daring, of business and politics, ofnature and culture, and of the unlikely birth of a multi-billion dollarindustry.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 356 pages
  • 149.86 x 228.6 x 33.02mm | 793.78g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0061704237
  • 9780061704239
  • 2,078,464

Back cover copy

From the author of the acclaimed Angels' Visits comes an inside look at how a handful of ingenious winemakers has transformed--and been transformed by--the California wine industry over the past four decades.

In the 1970s, a group of idealistic baby boomers was attracted to the seemingly romantic world of winemaking. Over the course of nearly forty years, however--as competition from abroad increased, wine eclipsed beer and spirits as American adults' beverage of choice, critics came to control the marketplace, and corporatization took over the industry--these young aesthetes would learn that wine is an unforgiving business. They would have to be clever to survive in an increasingly cutthroat atmosphere, and no one was more innovative than Randall Grahm of Bonny Doon Vineyard--the court jester and bleeding conscience of California wine, its most original and amusing figure. But Grahm is only one of the restless visionaries who, having chosen wine as the vehicle through which to fulfill their dreams, ended up changing the rules of the industry by adapting to its demands. From high technology to hardball entrepreneurship, from handicapping scores to holistic farming, each vintner operates by his or her own definition of an ideal wine.

In this lively, sweeping account that spans the early seventies to the present day, David Darlington employs a sharp journalistic eye to profile a group of wine pioneers. A tale of vision and disillusion, brinksmanship and pragmatism, nature and business, politics and culture, An Ideal Wine is a fascinating look at an ever-evolving industry that reflects the values of our society and our civilization.
show more

Rating details

52 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 19% (10)
4 37% (19)
3 37% (19)
2 4% (2)
1 4% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X