I Was an Eighth-Grade Ninja

I Was an Eighth-Grade Ninja

3.94 (128 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Series edited by  , Created by  , Created by  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A young immigrant girl's story and a battle between a fantastical kingdom and earth collide in this first book of the Tomo graphic novel series, where thirteen-year-old orphan Hana must leave Japan for a new life in America. Her arrival complicates not only her life, but that of a group of animal-like beings who are searching for an ancient sword.

Winner of the Moonbeam Award bronze medal for comics and graphic novels

Following the death of her mother, Hana is forced to move to San Francisco to live with a grandfather she has never met. While her grandpa is kind and welcoming, and has a cute raccoon named Tomo, the only place Hana feels at home is in his dojo, where she further hones her martial arts technique. Then she meets Brittany, a girl who could become a good friend ... but Brittany also has friends who want to see Hana fail at any cost.

At the same time, in the kingdom of Argon Falls, the bull-like Lord Ardath and his fox warriors search for a sword that will cement Ardath's rule and give him ultimate control ... and a special portal has led him directly to San Francisco.

I Was an Eighth-Grade Ninja:



is perfect for readers 10 and up
was created by veteran animators from Disney Animation Studios
features diverse characters, including an Asian main character
contains kid-friendly, anime-like illustrations and a relatable plot
will appeal to fans of Studio Ghibli, Jen Wang, and graphic novels
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 129 x 183 x 11mm | 126g
  • Grand Rapids, United States
  • English
  • 0310713005
  • 9780310713005
  • 78,559

Back cover copy

Winner of the Moonbeam Award Bronze Medal for comics and graphic novels! Martial Arts Moves Aren't Just for Practice Anymore. Hana, a Japanese orphan, is used to working on her martial-arts skills. After she moves to California to live with her grandfather, the only place she really feels at home is in his martial-arts studio. But all that practice will come in handy when savage creatures from another world attack! In the blink of an eye, Hana realizes she has a lot to learn about herself, her grandfather, and his strange little pet.
show more

About Andrew Simmons

Bud Rogers is a cartoonist and editor and has been very active in the Christian comics community for the past fifteen years. Bud uses his organizational and management skills to assist artists and writers in realizing their creative visions. Andrew Simmons is a seventeen-year veteran of animation with fifteen of those years at Walt Disney Feature Animation in Orlando, Florida. He currently enjoys the good life in middle Tennessee with his wife, six boys, two dogs, two cats, and koi fish. Rob Corley is a veteran animator with Disney, San Marco Films, and Curious Pictures. Rob is also the cofounder Funnypages Productions, an animation development and illustration company, and Funnypages Press, a comic book publisher. Tom Bancroft is a veteran Disney and Big Idea animator. While with Big Idea, he designed and directed the LarryBoy series of videos. Tom still keeps his hands in animation, but he also enjoys creating comics. Ariel has been drawing comics for the past fifteen years in the Philippines. His most recent work has been on the relaunch of the eighties comic series The Maze Agency for IDW Publishing.
show more

Rating details

128 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 47% (60)
4 19% (24)
3 20% (26)
2 9% (12)
1 5% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X