I Wanna Be Where You Are

I Wanna Be Where You Are

3.9 (990 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A debut young adult rom-com about an African American ballerina who finds love on the road to an audition.

In a world where it's easy to lose faith in love, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut. -- Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

When Chloe Pierce's mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe's mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe's chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast--two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.

Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, Kristina Forest's I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 28mm | 363g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250294886
  • 9781250294883
  • 71,533

Review quote

A brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut. --Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

A novel bursting with humor and struggle and heart--and the call to do what we love, even when it isn't easy. --Nina LaCour, author of the Printz Award-winning We Are Okay

A bighearted story about being brave enough to go for what you want, even when the rules tell you something different. --The New York Times

This is an engaging, romantic story that explores dealing with relationships, loss, and having the courage to follow your heart, romantically and otherwise. --Horn Book

A strong debut, recommended for dancers and wallflowers alike. --School Library Journal

Chloe's arc allows readers to follow her from insecure nightmares to coming one step closer to realizing big and small dreams. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

About Kristina Forest

Kristina Forest earned her MFA in Creative Writing at The New School and lives in Brooklyn, New York with two huge bookshelves. I Wanna Be Where You Are is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter.
show more

Rating details

990 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 26% (257)
4 44% (435)
3 25% (250)
2 4% (40)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X