I Am Thunder
25%
off

I Am Thunder

3.93 (660 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'I promised myself this time would be different. I would stand up for myself.'

Fifteen-year-old Muzna Saleem is used to being invisible. So no one is more surprised than her when Arif Malik, the hottest boy in school, takes a sudden interest.

But Arif is hiding a terrible secret and, as they begin to follow a dark path, Muzna faces an impossible choice: keep quiet and betray her beliefs, or speak out and betray her heart.

I Am Thunder is the debut novel from stunning YA voice, Muhammad Khan, which questions how far you'll go to stand up for what you believe.

'An uplifting, empowering novel with hope at its heart' Observer Children's Book of the Week

'Funny and clever - a perspective long overdue in British fiction' Alex Wheatle, Guardian prize-winning author of Crongton Knights

'This one is special . . . punches well above the weight of most debuts' The Times

'This assured, hopeful debut feels unprecedented and essential' Guardian

'One of the most distinctive narrators I've read in ages.' Fiona Noble, Bookseller
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 20mm | 229g
  • MACMILLAN CHILDREN'S BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed
  • 1509874054
  • 9781509874057
  • 154,112

Review Text

An uplifting, empowering novel with hope at its heart Observer Children's Book of the Week
show more

Review quote

A powerful debut about racism and the power of speaking out -- INIS Reading Guide - Editor's Choice An incredibly powerful debut novel that brings the reader a unique perspective . . . In order to foster tolerance and inclusiveness, the world needs more books like this. * WhatsOn * No half measures - this is an important as well as an immensely assured first novel * Books for Keeps * [A] searingly honest look at what it is to be a teenager struggling to find their own identity in a morass of competing pressures . . . I Am Thunder is a stunning debut written with confidence and a compelling voice -- Linda Wilson * crimereview.co.uk * Trailblazing * BookRiot * Empowering . . . I Am Thunder isn't like any book you've read before, Khan is a pioneer in YA -- The Yellow Pen Pot, theyellowpenpot.wordpress.com A big, heartfelt and ambitious book -- The Letterpress Project Nothing could be more timely or powerful. Perhaps Muhammad Khan is the strongest new voice in YA. I can't wait to see what he does next -- Jessica Hope, readbyjess.blogspot.co.uk This funny, gritty coming-of-age novel could not be more needed -- Izzy Read, Reader Review Panel member, lovereading4kids.co.uk The most vibrant, vivid voice I've encountered in a long time. Anyone who's interested in what it's like to be young, British or Muslim in the world today should read it, because it brings all those things to life with terrific power and emotion. -- S F Said, author of Varjak Paw, Booktrust Books of the Year 2018 We need more people like Muhammad Khan to craft stories like this to not only show that we are not alone, but also so people understand -- Humaira Kauser, Reader Review Panel member, lovereading4kids.co.uk Buy it, read it, devour it... A powerful story with a voice that was needed. YA world, you don't know the thunder that is coming your way! -- Samia Sharif, ssharifbooks.wordpress.com An exciting new voice in YA -- Netgalley Books of the Month [An] important, and well-needed YA novel. It will inspire Muslim teens who are looking for realistic representation in literature . . . [and] celebrates diversity. * The Bookbag * Fans of Skins and The Hate U Give will feel right at home here * BuzzFeed * This is a poignant coming of age story about a young girl trying to work out where she fits in the world, and who she can trust * Scotsman * This fierce, fresh UK debut has one of the most distinctive narrators I've read in ages. Muzna's warmth and heart transform what could have been a gritty "issues" book into a powerful call for hope and standing up for your beliefs * Bookseller * Funny and clever - a perspective long overdue in British fiction -- Alex Wheatle, Guardian prize-winning author of Crongton Knights With its superb heroine, pitch-perfect dialogue, and sensitive examination of extremism preying on naivety, this assured, hopeful debut feels unprecedented and essential -- Imogen Russell Williams * Guardian * This one is special . . . Muhammad Khan has created a powerful, sophisticated and intensely likeable female narrator in this thrilling novel, which punches well above the weight of most debuts -- Alex O'Connell, The Times Children's Book of the Week An uplifting, empowering novel with hope at its heart * Observer Children's Book of the Week *
show more

About Muhammad Khan

Muhammad Khan is an engineer, a secondary-school maths teacher, and now a YA author! He takes his inspiration from the children he teaches, as well as his own upbringing as a British-born Pakistani. He lives in South London and is studying for an MA in Creative Writing at St Mary's. He is working on his second novel for Macmillan Children's Books, Kick the Moon.
show more

Rating details

660 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 36% (240)
4 34% (224)
3 20% (133)
2 6% (41)
1 3% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X