The Hypnotist

The Hypnotist

3.7 (48,495 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

HE WILL TRAP YOU IN A WORLD OF TERROR
The groundbreaking first novel in the bestselling Joona Linna thriller series.


A TRAUMATISED WITNESS
Karolinska Hospital, Stockholm. Detective Inspector Joona Linna is faced with a boy who witnessed the gruesome murder of his family. He's suffered more than one hundred knife wounds and is comatose with shock.


A DISGRACED DETECTIVE
Linna's running out of time. The police do not want him on the case. The killer's on the run and there are seemingly no clues. Desperate for information, Linna enlists specialist Dr Erik Maria Bark, a hypnotist who vowed never to practise again.


A DEVASTATING CASE
As the hypnosis begins, a long and terrifying chain of events unfurls with reverberations far beyond Linna's case.


Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo.

Praise for Lars Kepler:



'The thriller that's taking Europe by storm...ferocious, visceral storytelling that wraps you in a cloak of darkness. It's stunning.' Daily Mail


'One of the best - if not the best - Scandinavian crime thrillers I've read.' Red


'All the hallmarks of a classic... this is crime writing at its most devilishly involving.' Marie Claire


'A genuine chiller...commanding and deeply scarifying stuff.' Independent


'Riddled with irresistible, nail-biting suspense, this first-class Scandinavian thriller is one of the best I've ever read.' Australian Women's Weekly


'A rollercoaster ride of a thriller full of striking twists.' Mail on Sunday


'An horrific and original read.' The Sun


'a sulphurous whiff of Hannibal Lecter.' Financial Times
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 528 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 33mm | 370g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008241813
  • 9780008241810
  • 45,895

Review quote

'Terrifying and original' SUN


'The thriller that's taking Europe by storm...ferocious, visceral storytelling that wraps you in a cloak of darkness. It's stunning.' DAILY MAIL


'One of the best - if not the best - Scandinavian crime thrillers I've read.' RED


'A rollercoaster ride of a thriller full of striking twists'
MAIL ON SUNDAY


'You'll be terrified' EVENING STANDARD


'All the hallmarks of a classic...a brutal crime, a missing child and an irresistible detective. this is crime writing at its most devilishly involving.' MARIE CLAIRE


'If the post-Stieg Larsson boom was ebbing, Kepler promises to revitalise the genre by bringing a sulphurous whiff of Hannibal Lecter to this case.' FINANCIAL TIMES


'A genuine chiller...commanding and deeply scarifying stuff.' INDEPENDENT
show more

About lars Kepler

Lars Kepler is a No.1 bestselling international sensation, whose Joona Linna thrillers have sold more than 14 million copies in 40 languages. The first book in the series, The Hypnotist, was selected for the 2012 Richard and Judy Book Club and the fourth, The Sandman, was one of the Evening Standard's books of the year. Lazarus is the seventh book in the series and went straight to No. 1 in Sweden, Norway, Finland, Holland, Iceland, and the Czech Republic.


Lars Kepler is the pseudonym for writing duo, Alexander and Alexandra Ahndoril. They live with their family in Sweden.
show more

Rating details

48,495 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 25% (11,911)
4 37% (17,992)
3 26% (12,708)
2 9% (4,226)
1 3% (1,658)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X