Husk

Husk

4.08 (203 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.24

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From award-winning author J. Kent Messum, a serial killer thriller for fans of The Straw Men and The Shining Girls.

LIFE GOES ON

For a lucky few, death is merely an inconvenience. With the help of technology the mind can survive long after a body has been laid to rest. This afterlife, however, is far from paradise...

MAKING A LIVING

Rhodes is a 'Husk'. It's an illegal, controversial and highly lucrative job - renting out control of his body and mind to the highest bidder. It's a sure way to gain a better life, but some clients go too far. Sometimes, he wakes up with scars.

MAKING A KILLING

Then the visions start - terrible sights that haunt his waking hours. They could be dreams, or they could be something far worse - they just might be memories...


Praise for J. Kent Messum:

'Raw, visceral, powerful ... may just make you question what it is to be human' Nick Cutter

'Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination' Andrew Pyper

'Disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising' Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me

'The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil ... Will keep readers turning pages late into the night' Lori Roy, Edgar-Award-winning author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home

'A powerhouse debut ... A mesmerizing, one-sitting read' Steve Ulfelder, Edgar-Award finalist author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 255g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405914262
  • 9781405914260
  • 1,613,131

Review Text

Raw, visceral, powerful ... may just make you question what it is to be human Nick Cutter
show more

Review quote

Raw, visceral, powerful ... may just make you question what it is to be human -- Nick Cutter Pacy and surprising, Husk is a showcase for a wild and frightening imagination -- Andrew Pyper Reading J. Kent Messum's Bait is like taking a high dive into black water. What you find in its murky depths is disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising. An exhilarating debut * Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me * The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil. Bait will keep readers turning pages late into the night. * Lori Roy, author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home * Jaws meets Lord of the Flies meets Drugstore Cowboy! A powerhouse debut. * Steve Ulfelder, author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie *
show more

About J. Kent Messum

J. Kent Messum is a British-Canadian writer living in Toronto. Husk is his second novel, the follow-up to the award-winning Bait.
show more

Rating details

203 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 36% (73)
4 41% (84)
3 18% (37)
2 4% (8)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X