Hungarian Dances

Hungarian Dances

3.58 (80 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback
By (author) 

List price: US$26.38

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Do you ever wish that you could be someone else? Just step out of your life and wake up as someone new? Karinas life was once mapped out for her she was meant to follow in the footsteps of her Hungarian grandmother, a world-famous violinist. Instead, shes a teacher, a mum and wife to Julian, a very English husband whos not always in step with her. But when disaster befalls her best friend, Karina feels forced to question the very foundations of her existence. Encouraged by a chance encounter with a like-minded musician, she begins to delve into her grandmothers Gypsy past, and to discover the secrets of her Hungarian family history. Life will never be the same again. Like most people, Karina isnt sure the life she chose was the right one. But she is willing to take drastic steps to change it.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 160 x 236 x 36mm | 670g
  • Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • n/a
  • 0340933577
  • 9780340933572

Review quote

'Jessica Duchen's debut novel is captivating, imaginative and fascinating. As a musician and a mother, I recognized many of the scenarios and found the questions that were posed very poignant, both from a musical and personal perspective. The pace builds powerfully to a dramatic and ultimately very moving conclusion. Completely gripping!' -- Tasmin Little on RITES OF SPRING 'Jessica Duchen has crafted a riveting drama set within the arts world ... The neatly-composed plot charges to a climax as steadily as Ravels Bolro, with Duchen capturing well the inner world of the pubescent girl and the London classical music scene. For fans of Joanna Trollope and Russian composers alike.' -- Classic FM Magazine on RITES OF SPRING 'An imaginative novel about a music writer, her violinist husband their daughter, with themes of miscommunication, perfectionism and adolescence.' -- Eve on RITES OF SPRING 'The devil in this book is in the detail, the accumulation of every detail that disables middle class life when the unexpected lands, in this case a musically gifted child. You turn the pages with a tremble, in case you crush the fragile family. Unbearably real.' -- Yasmin Alibhai-Brown 'Duchen skilfully balances the conventions of the genre with the authority of a writer who really knows her subject. ALICIA's GIFT is a wonderful read. But make sure you keep the Kleenex handy when you tackle it.' -- Music Teacher on Alicia's Gift 'This is a very well written study of the problem of being and having a child prodigy... it's a gripping read and it's very easy to get caught up in the excitement of wanting Alicia to succeed... I enjoyed this book a lot' -- Muso on Alicia's Gift
show more

About Jessica Duchen

Jessica Duchen was born in London and grew up with music and writing as twin passions. She writes for the Independent and has interviewed most of todays greatest musicians. Hungarian Dances is her third novel. Her other books include biographies of the composers Gabriel Faur and Erich Wolfgang Korngold and she has written several stage works and short stories. She lives in London with her violinist husband.
show more

Rating details

80 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 20% (16)
4 31% (25)
3 36% (29)
2 12% (10)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X