Hummingbirds
14%
off

Hummingbirds

3.18 (483 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 342 pages
  • 132.08 x 200.66 x 25.4mm | 317.51g
  • HARPER PERENNIAL
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061769029
  • 9780061769023
  • 1,136,678

Review quote

Gaylord has delivered a story that s ripe with acute and wry observations on men and women, competition, sexuality, and secrets. --Library Journal"
show more

Back cover copy

Hummingbirds is a wonderfully compelling novel about the intertwining and darkly surprising relationships at the elite Carmine-Casey School for Girls on Manhattan's Upper East Side, where the rivalries and secrets of teachers and students intersect and eventually collide.

In the world of students, popular Dixie Doyle battles to wrest attention away from Liz Warren, who spends her time writing and directing plays based on the Oresteia. In the world of teachers, Leo Binhammer must now share his territory with Ted Hughes, the new English teacher who threatens Binhammer's status as sole owner of the girls' hearts. Seasons change and tensions mount as the students, longing for entry into the adult world, toy with their premature powers of flirtation. The deceptive innocence of adolescence becomes a trap into which flailing teachers fall, as the line between maturity and youth begins to blur.
show more

Rating details

483 ratings
3.18 out of 5 stars
5 14% (68)
4 22% (108)
3 38% (182)
2 19% (93)
1 7% (32)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X