The Human Part
24%
off

The Human Part

3.48 (1,241 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 
3.48 (1,241 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

An elderly woman agrees to sell her life story to an author with writer's block she meets at a book fair. She needs to talk - her husband has not spoken since a family tragedy some months ago, and seven thousand euros is a lot of money. She claims that her grown-up children are doing well, but the writer imagines less salubrious lives for them, as the downturn of Finland's economic boom begins to bite. Perhaps he's on to something. The Human Part lays bare the absurdities of modern society in the most vicious and precise manner imaginable. But it is also a wise novel of family life, rejoicing in the little white lies we tell one another and the way we pull together in times of tragedy.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 17mm | 188g
  • MacLehose Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0857051067
  • 9780857051066
  • 971,277

Review Text

'A simply stunning book. Fans of Mark Haddon and Haruki Murakami will be enraptured' Sarah Beech, Time Out. Time Out
show more

Review quote

'A simply stunning book. Fans of Mark Haddon and Haruki Murakami will be enraptured' Sarah Beech, Time Out. * Time Out *
show more

About Kari Hotakainen

Kari Hotakainen was born in 1957 in Pori, Finland. His breakthrough came in 1997 when he was nominated for the Finlandia Prize, which he later won in 2002. Hotakainen has also written children's plays, radio dramas, newspaper columns and television scripts.
show more

Rating details

1,241 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 12% (155)
4 37% (462)
3 37% (464)
2 12% (144)
1 1% (16)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X