How We Remember
21%
off
21%
off

How We Remember

3.77 (44 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Every family has its secrets, and many have sibling rivalries.

When Jo O'Brien returns home after her mother's death, she is forced to confront both.

An unexpected inheritance fans the flames of existing tensions between Jo and her brother, and their mother's long-forgotten diary recalls the messy aftermath of an uncle's sexual advances towards Jo when she was a teenager. Like the diary, Jo's memory of events is full of gaps, but one thing is certain - she will never regain what was lost.

How We Remember traces the effects of alcoholism, mental illness and abuse on one Irish-Italian-American, working-class family. Jo's narration weaves together past and present stories, creating a complex portrait of her family's life, one that will shape Jo's future choices when faced with the tragedy of mismanaged grief.

Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler, Winnie M Li and Sylvia Brownrigg, this is a novel that will stay with you long after you stop turning the pages.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 127 x 195.58 x 22.86mm | 272.16g
  • RedDoor Publishing Ltd
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1910453625
  • 9781910453629
  • 1,746,287

Review quote

'How We Remember drew me in with its vividly drawn characters right from the beginning. Unsettling, honest and thought-provoking' - Joanne Burn
show more

About J. M. Monaco

J.M. Monaco grew up in the northeast region of the USA where she studied English and Creative Writing at undergraduate level. She worked in a variety of areas before taking up postgraduate studies in England where she completed her PhD. She now lives in a buzzing city in the South West of England with her husband and children.
show more

Rating details

44 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 11% (5)
4 57% (25)
3 30% (13)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X