How to Love an American Man
14%
off

How to Love an American Man : A True Story

3.41 (681 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A lovely, warm, and poignant true story that reads like compelling fiction, How to Love an American Man is Kristine Gasbarre's unforgettable memoir recalling the valuable lessons on love she learned from her newly widowed grandmother--and how Grandma's advice and memories enabled the author to find and fall for a man with an old-fashioned approach to romance. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love, women readers drawn to tales of powerful female bonding, and anyone looking for a beautiful love story will be moved and, perhaps, profoundly inspired by How to Love an American Man.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 292 pages
  • 134.62 x 198.12 x 20.32mm | 226.8g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0061997390
  • 9780061997396
  • 815,732

Back cover copy

An endearing and unforgettable memoir of love, self-discovery, and enduring, old-fashioned values

Kristine Gasbarre made a New York career of dating driven, inaccessible men. When she realizes her love life will never result in happiness if she continues on the same path, she makes a big decision--relocating to Italy to discover her roots and find out what defines her adoring grandpa. But upon receiving the news of his sudden passing, she is lured away.

With nowhere left to go, Krissy returns to her small hometown for the first time in a decade to help care for her grandmother--a refined, private matriarch suf?fering from early dementia along with the loss of her husband. In her reluctant agreement to share the nearly lost love stories and transformative lessons from her rich sixty-year marriage, Krissy's grandma becomes the one of?fering comfort as she coaches her granddaughter through the fear of loving. Grandma's unapologetic femininity and secret giving spirit opens Krissy's eyes about relationships, teaching her the single most important requisite for loving a man: first a woman has to learn the power of her own inner beauty.
show more

Review Text

Gasbarre's reflections should resonate with many readers...including those who enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love Booklist
show more

Review quote

Gasbarre's reflections should resonate with many readers...including those who enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love--Booklist
show more

Rating details

681 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 20% (134)
4 28% (192)
3 32% (218)
2 14% (96)
1 6% (41)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X