How Justice Grew

How Justice Grew

By (author) 

List price: US$9.44

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Excerpt: the mouth of Greasy creek thence a straight course to the Montgomery line." Grayson took its name from Colonel William Grayson, an officer in the Revolution, member of the Continental Congress and one of the first two senators elected from Virginia after the adoption of the Constitution to serve in the Congress of the United States. Unfortunately his tenure of office was short; he died 12 March 1790. Also in 1793, Russell County was divided and all that part "which lies westwardly of a line beginning on the top of Clinch 49 mountain, one mile eastwardly of big Maukason gap, thence a direct course to the mouth of Stock creek thence up the same to Powell's mountain, thence due north to the Kentucky boundary shall form one distinct county and be called and known by the name of Lee." The name honored General Henry Lee who was Governor of Virginia 1791-1794. He is more often called "Light Horse Harry Lee" from the fact that he commanded, during the Revolution, light horse cavalry. He was the father of General Robert E. Lee. Lee is the county farthest to the west and adjoins Tennessee and Kentucky. Also in 1793, the county of Madison was formed from Culpeper. Its bounds were within a line "Beginning at the mouth of Robinson river thence up the same to the mouth of Crooked run, thence up the said run to the mountain road where Tennant's church formerly stood, thence a straight course to the head of Hugh's river in the Blue Ridge, thence the same course continued to the top of the ridge and to the line of Shenandoah county, thence westwardly on the top of the ridge with the lines of the counties of Shenandoah and Rockingham to the line of Orange county to the beginning." One may wonder that the name Madison was used again, but at this date the earlier Madison County lay in Kentucky. When in 1792 Kentucky achieved statehood, it was composed of nine counties formerly in Virginia; namely: Fayette, Lincoln, Jefferson, Madison, Mercer, Nelson, Bourbon, more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 189 x 246 x 2mm | 82g
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236700732
  • 9781236700735